Fiction logo

Midnight Sky and a Talking Cat

Chapter 1

By Levon AlldredgePublished about a year ago 5 min read
1
Midnight Sky and a Talking Cat
Photo by Nechama Lock on Unsplash

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky. But I don't think many people could see it the way I did. Walking home from the 7-11 that fateful autumn evenning, I didn't know it would be the night my life would change forever. I was fourteen. Listenning to my new favorite punk band: Whiskey Fairy and the Shot Glass serenade, while I sipped my purple Fanta Slurpee in the rain. I don't know why I looked up right then. I have thought about it countless times, and for the life of me, I couldn't possibly tell you.

All I know, is that when I did look up, the sky had changed. The deep, moonlit, purple hues obscured by the storm clouds had brightenned. The clouds themselves seemed to shine with a new purple light against their previous dark grey.

It was beautiful.

Beautiful in a way I hadn't seen before and seldom seen in anything other than the midnight sky since. I had no idea what to make of it. Had the sky changed? And if so, why?

I don't know how long I stood, mouth a gape staring, before I was joined by a small, familliar, furry shape that brushed against my ankle.

"Awful pre'y innit?" The familiar, very English accented voice of Matt the cat pulled my eyes downward.

"Did it change color?" I asked "Why is it that color now?".

"'t'aint nuffin new, love. Are you just now seein' it?" Matt replied. Mewthew Archibald Reginauld Business, or Matt the Cat, had been my loyal familiar since I was seven. He's actually how I discovered my powers originally. I saw him on the street as a kitten, and he asked if he could follow me home.

I could still remember how cute his little tuxedo colored fur was that day. His big eyes just too cute to resist. I loved him from the moment I saw him.

And then I heard him talk. I don't know why he talks like a British street urchin, I've never been to England, but he's always talked like that. I've just gotten used to it over the years.

"Yeah..." I said hesitantly, my eyes drifting back up.

"Oh... must be developin' your third eye then. Feysight, we calls it. Yeah, s'always been that way."

"Feysight? is that like.... another witch thing?" I asked. Don't get me wrong, having nifty powers is exciting. Like, really exciting. But so far, learning how NOT to throw magic around has been harder than learning to use it. Like, how I am supposed to resist turning my brother into a toad when he's being a jerk.

"Tha's right. But not ev'ry sorceress has it. And you ain' a witch. Witches 'ave to study spells, love. Ain't a problem you're gonna 'ave. Magic's just innate to your type." He said. Innate. Like going through puberty my mom had said. Just one more change my body was going to go through. The joys of being Fae-born I guess.

Again, don't get me wrong having the ability to slam doors with my mind is cool. It is. Like it REALLY is. But how was I supposed to hide this at school? Being a freshman was hard enough without having to make sure I didn't accidentally set the teacher's hair on fire why I got a bad grade on a test.

And who was I supposed to talk to about it. My dad? He was the only other Fae I knew, and his powers looked SOOO much different. I guess that was because he was a Fell-fey of the Winter Court and I wasn't. My powers hadn't manifested enough to discover my school yet. But Fell-fey can't be half mortal. They are ALWAYS True-born. So I knew I was always going to be different than my dad.

Not that he would ever notice...

Sometimes, I felt like he barely even knew I existed. I still loved him and everything. And I knew he loved me. But especially since mom took me back to the Mortal World, it kinda felt like he just couldn't be bothered. Yeah, we had stone-circle communion once a week. But its not like he couldn't send a messenger if he wanted to. Fell-fey were commanders in the Winter Queen's Army. He could do whatever he wanted as long as he didn't cross the planes.

"How are the clouds dancing?" I could almost pick out the steps the clouds were doing with the sky. But it seemed so unfamiliar. Not quite human.

"Ain't clouds. They're wind fae. Sky's just so full of 'em the look like clouds." I looked down at Matt the cat's slit-pupiled eyes. They were darting back and forth as if following one set of the dancers in particular.

"Wind Fae? True Fae? In the Mortal World?" I was astonished. I couldn't believe my eyes. It seemed as though the whole sky was glowing now. The sky a blushed pink and the clouds leading the dance.

"Elder Fae. And not in the Mortal World, the barrier is just thin enough this time of night that you can- "

A horn honked, making me jump. I dropped the last half of my Slurpee splattering it all over the road. The driver, a clearly impatient man, hunched his shoulders in a shrug bringing his hands up as if to say "What the hell? Get out of the way." I'd been so distracted by the fae in the sky, i hadn't even realized I'd been standing in the middle of the road.

I promptly got back on the sidewalk. I was NOT stoked to have lost my slurpee, but I wasn't about to walk all the way back and get another one.

"Mind telling me if you're gonna soak my paws, love?" Matt the cat said. Clearly annoyed. I looked down. The frozen purple slush was covering the crisp white fur of his little paws!

"I am SO SORRY!!" I picked him up immediately. "That guy... and I just...."

"S'alright. No harm done. But you're carryin' me home."

"Sure..." I said. and started to trudge my was back to the house.

Hopefully, Mom would be home by now.

But I doubted it.

FantasyYoung AdultExcerpt
1

About the Creator

Levon Alldredge

I am a Veteran (USMC), a Psychology major, and a MASSIVE history nerd.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Great story. Very nicely done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.