Fiction logo

Mermaid Feathers

A Quick Trip Home

By Charliy NashPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1

As the elevator doors closed behind them, Glen asked, “What are you up to this weekend?”

“I’m making a quick trip home,” Kyle replied, “It’s my parents’ fiftieth anniversary.”

“That a big milestone,” Glen said, “Where is home for you?”

“Horseshoe Junction, West Virginia,” Kyle answered.

“I didn’t know you were, uh I mean, you don’t, uh -“

“What? I don’t wear overalls and sound like Minnie Pearl? We have civilization there. I didn’t grow up barefoot in a little cabin with all my kinfolk. I do have a cousin named Opal, but I’ve never dated her,” Kyle laughed, “I even have all my teeth.”

“I get it,” Glen relented, “I get it, put the claws away! So what does your family do?”

“They own a small chain of general stores, three stores in two counties,” Kyle answered, “Dad’s about to retire from it, so we’re celebrating that too. I found something really special for them. I went to Amish country a few weeks ago and found some old lanterns that are exactly what they’re looking for to put in their cabin.”

“Aha” Glen exclaimed, “so you did live in a cabin!”

Kyle laughed, “No, we have a very nice house just outside of town with a pool and hot tub, the works. They also have a lakeside cabin in Georgia they like to get away to. They’ve been looking for the right lanterns to light the main room.”

Glen shook his head, “I did it again didn’t I?”

“Don’t worry about it, Kyle deferred, “when I first moved here to Philly I expected everyone to want to fight me.”

“Come on, Glen protested, “our reputation isn’t that bad.”

“The city that booed Santa Claus? “

By this point they’d walked across the parking lot and were near their vehicles. Kyle pulled back the bed cover on his pickup truck and pulled out a large plastic bin.

“Check out the lanterns,” Kyle said, “These are going to look great in Mermaid Feathers.”

Glen looked at him inquisitively, “Mermaid Feathers?”

“Oh, that’s the name of their cabin, Kyle explained, “It’s an old expression my grandmother used to use for something extremely rare. It’s actually what the stores are called too.”

“Are you heading there right now?”

Kyle shook his head, “No, it’s about a six hour drive, and I don’t want to be on some of those back roads late at night, especially with rain in the forecast. I’m leaving early in the morning.”

Glen pulled his car keys out of his pocket, “That doesn’t leave you all that much time with the family, does it?”

“I’m taking Monday and Tuesday off, so I’ll have a few days to spend with them. I’ll get back here Monday night, then I’m meeting a guy Tuesday to sell him my motorcycle - I’m bringing that back with me. That’ll pay for the whole trip, even the lanterns.”

Glen feigned disappointment,”Oh no, You’re going to miss Mark Mercini’s Mandatory Motivational Monday Meeting!”

Kyle laughed as he placed the lanterns back into his truck, “The dreaded M6. I won’t miss it; I won’t be there, but I absolutely will not miss it.”

“You might miss one of his infamous mixed metaphor malapropisms, Glen said, those are always fun.”

Kyle laughed, “Were you there the time he said to keep your hand on the grindstone? I had to bite my knuckle to keep from laughing out loud.

“I had just taken a drink of water when he said it,” Glen said, “I coughed it right back into the glass - that could have been, messy. Well, I have to get home, have a safe trip and I’ll see you next week”

family
1

About the Creator

Charliy Nash

Streams of consciousness with white water rapids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    . Awesome story!!! Loved it!!!❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.