Fiction logo

Memory of Mang Mountain

Memory

By dawjacksonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
2

The first time I saw Mang Mountain, it was still raised in the deep mountain people do not know.

That day, after a long and bumpy bus ride, I was drowsy and felt a cool breeze surround me when I stepped on Mang Mountain, and the fatigue of the journey was suddenly swept away. We found a local to be our guide, and a group of people followed the river and entered the mountain. With the sunset glow, the guide led us towards the ghost fortress. While we enjoyed the craggy peaks, waterfalls and pines, the clear streams and emerald valleys, the water and the mountains, we listened to the story of the late Ming and early Qing dynasties when the team of King Li Zicheng released water and pretended to be ghosts and gods to break the Qing soldiers. The guide is a state farm employee, dark face, messy hair, a simple smile, a pair of bright eyes look bright. As he walked, he used his right index finger to point out a scenic spot on the side of the mountain. Listening to the ear-splitting sound of the waterfall, I felt as if I heard the King's troops shouting, the sound accompanied by the sound of the waterfall shaking the sky and earth.

That night, we stayed at the reservoir. Here, in addition to the cool mountain breeze, there are all kinds of animal sounds, treble, bass, alto, sound into the ear, as if in a symphony orchestra, from time to time there are one or two fireflies, holding a high "small lantern" to run to us. I've been living in the city for a long time, and it was as if I had been turned back in time to my childhood country life. This night I was completely emptied and fell into a deep sleep in the song of nature.

In the morning, I woke up from the sound of birdsong. As if the sleep in the mountains had given me enough energy, my friend and I climbed up to Tiantai Mountain with great vigor. I saw strange peaks, pines and cypresses, clouds and fog, gusts of mountain wind whistling, full of white clouds, as if really floating up to the East Heavenly Gate in the sky, between the diffuse clouds, clothes floating, into the gods.

My eyes were dazzled by the strange peaks and scenery, the guide quietly pulled my clothes and said mysteriously close to me, "There is a Hui Long Temple on the mountain." I heard this and immediately became interested. This is a remnant of the half of the temple, the temple roof covered with bark, the temple door hung on an old hook-and-pull brass lock, I lie in the doorway to look in, only to see the sunlight through the roof seams spattered in the dark temple, a dilapidated bed occupies a third of the small temple.

Walking down the winding mountain path, suddenly saw two men with long hair and long beards, wearing long cloth shirts of indistinguishable colors. The old man with white hair and white beard looked at the sky, his facial expression serious, his mouth chanting, his right hand from time to time grabbed some rice from his left pocket and scattered it to the roadside. The black-haired man wielded a scythe and concentrated on cutting the bushes along the roadside. High mountains, broken temples, old paths. I was so impressed by the devotion of this scene that I stared blankly and forgot where I was until my guide pulled my clothes and I turned back one step at a time and walked down the mountain.

I woke up in the morning light from Zeziping and went to Mangkeng Rock to see the sunrise through the Acacia Pit. When I climbed up to the top of the mountain, I saw a sunrise coming out of the mountain, as if someone in the air had already prepared the paint and painted the peaks golden at the right time. I was marveling at the magic of nature when I heard a mountain song flying out of the mountains, the soft song, the thin and long voice, as if the voice of heaven, soaring over the mountains. The song goes like this: "The two mountains are blossoming with red peonies. There is a loving man on the mountain, but I don't dare to tell him in my heart. ......" This is a Yao woman singing a mountain song, but unfortunately there is no man to sing it, I was lamenting the shortage of beauty when I saw the guide next to me using his hand to form a trumpet and singing with a rough voice to the opposite side of the mountain. The red peony blooms on both mountains. If the love sister has a heart, please be bold to sing yo ......" The song echoed in the valley, and a line of egrets flew in the sunlight with the song, I captured the scene with my camera.

When I went back, Mang Mountain was already a tourist attraction, so I took my guide's photo with me before the trip. When we parted, the guide said to me, "Brother, you must give me some photos." But in my hurry, I forgot to ask him for his detailed address. When I was disappointed, someone said, "Ask the owner of the store, she is a local and may know. The owner's wife wiped her eyes with her right hand and looked at the photo carefully, then looked at me for a long time and slowly asked, "Who is he to you?" I replied, "A friend." She hung her head and said, "You come with me." We came to a barren field behind the hill, and she pointed to a small mound and said, "This is where he is." It turned out that one rainy night the year after I left, two poachers had stolen protected animals down the mountain and were spotted by him as they passed the ranger cabin. He was about to take the poachers to the farm security section when he was knocked to the ground by the poachers. He crawled all the way to the report, spilling blood all the way, and when he was found, he was dying due to excessive bleeding. He died on the way to the hospital.

I handed her all the photos I had brought and she burned them one by one on the grave. Looking at the curling smoke, I suddenly remembered something and asked, "What was he to you?"

"It's my former boyfriend, we met in a pair of mountain songs." Saying this she looked at me and smiled shyly and lost. Then, the song echoed in my memory again. Looking at the verdant mountains and listening to the birds singing, I thought about it and said to her as if to myself, "Yes, he and his songs seem to have drifted away like smoke, but the mountains he was watching over are eternal."

Classical
2

About the Creator

dawjackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.