Fiction logo

Taste of the old town

memory

By dawjacksonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

For a long time, I have not been back to my hometown.

My hometown is a distant town far from modern civilization, lying quietly at the foot of the Mingyue Mountain. In my memory, the clear Baishui River was like a long dragon passing through the town. The white and smooth pebbles on the river bank, reflecting the mountains and mountains, tell the story of the vicissitudes of the years.

The quaint and long streets, green and gray tiled houses are staggered and built along the river, witnessing the rising and setting of the moon in the years. Rooftops, indistinct wisps of cooking smoke faint, cooking smoke flooded with the fullness of the day. Poetic river, simple light smoke, long ancient streets, the town of this life as if a paradise, let people calm the mind. The ancient streets, ancient charm, ancient flavor, always let people to touch its veins, touch its soul. It's quiet, it's ancient, it's far, are written all over the history of the hometown, fixed in the years, so that the hometown of the wanderers will always hang on.

In fact, the hometown has a rich history. According to the "Republic of renewed Dazhu County" records: "Sihe town: southeast of the county one hundred and forty miles, the old name of the town of Burwang. Land and bamboo, neighboring, pad three counties bordering. Qianlong 12 years changed to Sihe. Originally set up a sub-defense with a, Jiaqing five years abolished; with a foreign flood hall, Xuan Tong three years abolished." Such a historical town, where its roots are lost, where its long history is lost? I ask myself, but I can not find the right answer, the mystery rises in the heart, and lost in the heart. Every time I read this, carved beams, flying eaves, pavilions and water pavilions always appear in front of my eyes.

My hometown has my roots, my soul of love, the pull of my hometown, the call of my hometown, let me embark on the journey back to my hometown.

When I returned to my hometown, the familiar villages, houses, trees, crops, flowers and plants were like an ink painting framed in my heart. This countryside silhouette is simple, calm, true and natural. The familiar faces were reflected in my eyes, and the pure, fresh, warm, generous, simple, and heavy native voice soothed my longing, and my heart surged with a long-lost joy. I have been away from my hometown for too long, many times in my dreams touching my hometown, kissing my hometown. Now, with my hometown in front of me, I pounced on it and embraced it in this life.

The ancient town of Sihe, surrounded by the Baishui River, the river is moving, giving birth to spiritual mountains and beautiful water. The old town consists of two parts, the new street and the old street, two streets looking at each other. I have nostalgic feelings, rarely go to the new street shopping. No wonder people in my hometown make fun of me: look at you, so many years away from home and did not see a great wealth, but also blind to see the play - blind, every time you come back to see the new street. Not to go to the new street, is I think that place and I do not have much to do with. Ideas, these newly developed places, the lack of ancient connotations and far-reaching cultural elements, are a clone of the mold, the same, no distinctive theme, look or not, are the same. With subjective assumptions, I was not surprised by those who made fun of it.

Back to the hometown, in fact, is to find the shadow of the past, to find those bits of memory, to find those hard to erase the past. Today, the memory of the old town has long changed, such as a girl to be married, can not wait to get out of the depths of the mountains, riding the economic high-speed train all the way, embracing the passion of the colorful world. The old street has been changed into a new face, beautiful buildings and old boarding houses are interwoven, the old boarding houses remain the bones of the years, the new buildings have a strong sense of the times, the new and the old blend with each other. The long green stone road leaves traces of the years, the wind and rain in the years of silence, I do not know whether it is faithfully waiting for the return of distant wanderers.

When I was a child, the day of the market, people bustling around, stretched in the heart of the children picked up the sun, the back of the day is the hope of the mother, that lively scene, and now can only remain deep in my memory. The old street, like an old man who can not bear the weight, walked through its windy years, into the twilight of old age. Walking in the streets of déjà vu, I became a time passerby in a hurry, the ancient street in front of me is strange, far away, where is my return, where is my old dream, where should I deposit my heart?

The old stone paved street has been reaching into my deep memories. There are also strings of red flowers on the old street, like a cloud of haze, both intoxicating and rosy. They said that the peach blossoms on the new street were in full bloom, which piqued my interest.

Sure enough, a tree of peach blossoms along the new street is in full bloom. The clouds are steaming, like a charming spirit. Is this the ancient town of my dreams? People with me said that the construction of the new street, the local party committee and government to comply with the wishes of the people, adhering to the "see the mountains, see the water, remember the nostalgia" concept, in accordance with the old repair as the old, back to the basics of the tone, in the old town on the original site was rebuilt. Since the beginning of construction in 2011, more than 400 new houses have been built, forming three antique style streets, Jincheng Street, Bo Wang Street and General Street. The buildings are mainly colored in gray and white, presenting the grandness of Huizhou architecture, decorated with red tone at the rounded corners, and the roofs are decorated with flying eaves.

Along the flat and wide concrete avenue, you can walk into the new rural settlement. You would never think that just a few years ago, this place was still a low tiled house, surrounded by weeds and barren. Nowadays, there are dazzling spring couplets on every door, festive colors, and smiling faces of the elderly and children. The sound of laughter from the heart is the expectation of a good day and the desire for a better life, which makes people sigh at the reincarnation of Sihe rural areas in the past and present.

The day is getting dusk, the sun lengthened the figure, but also the ancient street gradually lengthened. I walked slowly in the old town, always looking for something, old streets, new streets, deep alleys, ancient bridges, however, I found only the shallow flow of the Baishui River, like a ballad flowing into the distance.

It is said that where there are memories, there are roots; where there are emotions, there is the hometown. It is true, but I am convinced that the city is just a floating figure, and the hometown is the umbilical cord that links the human heart. In the near future, I can still find the taste of my hometown in the old town with the smell of dead wood and spring.

family
Like

About the Creator

dawjackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.