Fiction logo

Memory Lane

A Story Every Day in 2024 April 7th 98/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 25 days ago 2 min read
10
Memory Lane
Photo by Abbie Hartley on Unsplash

The city break had been Tracy's idea and while Ray would have preferred to spend the time loafing at home or pottering about, fulfilling the never-ending list of household chores and DIY fixes that an older home required, he knew that keeping her happy meant less hassle for him and so, he complied.

"Look at its name, Ray!" she exclaimed as they walked down yet another "quaint little street" as she called it but which Ray viewed as an overbearing pokey alley with limited light and appeal.

"Memory Lane! Shall we take a trip down it?" She giggled as she put her arm through his. Ray expanded his features into a semblance of acquiescence and they walked into the dark recesses of the narrow street together.

Ray wasn't sure if it was his imagination or whether the black and white historical houses with their crooked roofs and asymmetrical windows were leaning in over him and stealing the light. He suddenly felt very intimidated, but he looked around and saw the shop displays and the plain doors leading to the flats above; the clusters of escaped napkins and crisp packets which the wind whipped away and trapped in gutters; the smell of the city, food and rubbish and drains - a heady cocktail of aromas.

The smells, he would remember later, had caused the trip down "memory lane", transforming it from adventure into darkness.

It was the butchers', the warm smell of the meaty baked goods, pasties and pies, reaching his nostrils and transporting him back to when he had walked in on Granny and her mincer. He had only been four, maybe five years old.

Granny was a product of the war-time era where no food was wasted. Powdered egg and ration books had been a staple where meat wasn't, so any that came her way was made into sustenance.

When Ray had blacked out on Memory Lane and Tracy had tried to revive him, his mind had just recalled the time where Granny was cutting up roadkill deer that Jim next door had supplied, so she said. Only there were considerably more toes than those on an ungulate.

Ray had a salad sandwich for lunch.

***

366 words

I have been doing a lot of travelling and as a result, I am having to play catch-up, hence the late arrival of this one today. Also, last night, I spent a wonderful night in London and I will be telling all about that in due course, so no spoilers here. But I am tired. The writing streak though? That's more important than Sunday dinner and we are having ungulate of the bovine variety; at least, I sincerely hope so.

I wrote this macabre little number after a perusal at this website, great for prompts if you don't have time to muse:

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

97/366

Short StoryPsychologicalMysteryMicrofictionHumorHorrorCONTENT WARNINGAdventure
10

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran24 days ago

    I'm a vegetarian but only for animal meat. Hehehehehhehe. Loved your delicious story! 😋😋😋😋

  • John Cox24 days ago

    Waste not, want not! I giggled when Ray decided to forego meat for dinner. Your clever finale took some of the bite of the gruesome reveal away. 😝great story!

  • Ameer Bibi24 days ago

    Your stories are very interesting beautifully written keep it up

  • D.K. Shepard24 days ago

    Delightful and disgusting! What a tension! Not the trip down memory lane that Tracy had in mind I suspect

  • Mark Gagnon24 days ago

    Did Memory Lane end at Sweeny Todd's place? Another place I occasionally get prompts from is Reedsy. Well done!

  • Gerard DiLeo24 days ago

    Your talent always impresses me, Rachel. Not just the endings but the mechanics of the set up. Beautiful.

  • TheSpinstress24 days ago

    Ewwwww, yuk! I'd love to pretend to have enjoyed this story, but I am still sitting here grimacing. Well-written but disgusting!

  • Caroline Craven25 days ago

    Ha! Definitely put me off eating road kill…. Ever! This was so good!

  • Cathy holmes25 days ago

    I was expecting a lovely story of nostalgia, but then that ending. 😳

  • randy Davidson 25 days ago

    Cool thought my good writer keep it up

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.