Fiction logo

Marnie and Jack

a dystopian fiction

By Angela Ebell-SolomonPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
Unlimited Power

The fields beyond the wall grow barren and grim as the years continue forward on their path towards extinction.

Jack and I have been walking the border for weeks, hoping to find a new source of water to settle down by until the next raid. He's the only thing I trust in this world, Jack is; I found him a few years ago, starving beneath a willow tree after the Cascades attacked through the Eastern gates. They beat this poor puppy and left him chained to the willow's trunk, whimpering and alone. It was easy to name this grateful boy, Happy Jack, for his enthusiasm to heal was extraordinary. He's my life now, and I am his.

Together we have traveled three of the four quarters within the outer rim of Monarch City. Over the years I have tracked, mapped, and studied the routes of the Cascade Raiders; they use these routes to find new patrons to enslave, and more food for their greedy bellies. Now, Jack and I can stay ahead of them and stay safe from the ruins of the world. By the time we enter the fourth quarter we find a narrow river, perfect for catching dinner. Jacks' stance is sharp, as always, as I focus the tip of my spear at a beautiful salmon. As my grip nearly releases, a bright light fogs my eyesight, and I miss my shot.

"Dammit, Jack!" I yelled aggressively. As if it was his fault...

Jack quickly catches up with the fish, and snatches it between his teeth. He's such a good boy. Looking down between the rocks, I find what altered my sight; a silver heart-shaped locket with a gold rim. It's definitely old, nobody can make things like this anymore, at least not after the war. It's been 200 years since everything went dark, but I've heard stories, and I'm glad I wasn't around then. According to my Father, it lasted 20 years, destroying everything, and killing billions. All of that over some stupid energy source that powered everything. If people knew then, that power isn't everything, then maybe billions of people would still be alive, and slavery wouldn't have been reintroduced into world.

Once the fire was burning hot, Jack and I cooked our salmon; eating like kings for the first time in weeks. I took out the locket and tried to open it, but it was sealed shut. I pulled out my knife to try and pry it open, but it slipped and the knife's gnarly sharp edge pricked my finger, dropping the locket into the coals of the fire. Quickly enough I snatched it away from the flames and set it into my handkerchief. The blood from my cut, covered the entire locket, and it began to shine? Is this... power?

Suddenly I felt a magnificent surge pass through my body, as if I had ran into a wall at full speed, knocking me the ground. Jack came to me and began to jump on top of me to make sure I was alright. I was, I just didn't understand. The same moment my body hit the ground, I saw something flashing in the distance; Monarch City, it was lighting up. I have never seen a sight like this: colors, lights, and wonder. Then as quickly as the lights turned on, they turned right back off. The horns of the Cascade Raiders rang like echoing sirens, meaning Jack and I had no time to lose to run.

"Come on, Jack! That's our cue." I said, grabbing my spear and my pack.

As we walked along the river's edge, Jack clung onto me like a baby dancing on their father's toes.

"It's alright, Jacky boy, let me tell you a little story. When the world was thriving, it was also dying. Greed controlled the lands, and power controlled the people. When the world was no longer worthy, one man took the power, locked it way, and the Earth went black in less than a hour. Inside a box, the energy was hidden, only one key was made and to a young girl it was given. Those up high, sunk deep into the ground, as the key was lost and never to be found."

My father told me this story a million times; he said that one day the key would resurface, and the world would come together again. I don't know if that's true, but I think I may have accidentally discovered that key, and I certainly don't like hearing those horns.

Jack and I head towards the Western gate in the first quarter. We plan to get on the other side of the wall, but with raids out in every quarter of the outer rim, I don't know how we will be able to do it. Eventually we venture into the town just a few miles from the gate, doing our best to blend in with the locals. Under my cloak, I conceal my spear and the lockett was wrapped around Jack's neck. We found a small well between a few buildings and stopped for a drink of water.

"Hey! what do you think you're doing?" A strange voice yelled. I quickly grasp my spear, and turn around.

"Your dog can't drink out of the well like that. That's the freshest water in all of Monarch City, and I'm not going to let your dog contaminate it." He said.

"He's got to drink too." I said.

"What's your name? I've never seen you in Prime before?" The strange man asked.

"I don't stay in towns much, too many people in my personal bubble." I answered.

"Well I'm Wess, he can drink from this." Wess said while setting down a small bowl of water for Jack.

"Thank you... Wess." I questioned his compassion. "I'm Marnie."

"Marnie? Never heard a name like..." Wess suddenly stopped speaking, and stared directly at the lockett. "Where in the world did you find that?" He asked.

"Find it? I made it." I said using my spear as a distraction.

"Not the damn spear, that lockett! Do you realize that what the Cascades have been looking for?" He said walking closer towards me.

I put my spear up to his chest.

"That's far enough... You know what this is?" I asked.

"You need to leave, if the raiders find you with that, you and your dog will both be hung up." he stated.

"I'm sorry, why would they need this? its just a dumb necklace." I replied.

"Years ago, when the raids started up again, the Cascade Monarchs found the power source. All they need is that necklace, and they will take over everything." he said intently.

"Oh well... that's a lot of information. Uh how do you know all this exactly?" I asked.

The sounds of the horns began to scream through the town. The raiders were already here.

"Get inside. You can hide in here for now." he whispered while pulling my arm and pushing me towards the door of his tiny house.

We all stayed quiet, as the raiders passed by the door. Suddenly the door was kicked in, and Wess and I were taken.

"JACK!!!" I screamed with tears falling from my eyes. Jack ran towards me biking the ankle of the man taking control over me. The raider then turned and kicked Jack off his leg, and another man took Jack by the neck and cut his throat; leaving him in the dirt, bleeding to death.

"JAAAAAACK!" I cried out for my friend, my partner, my family. I fought to get out of the raider's grip, and ran to Jack. Holding his head in my arms, he was already gone. Three men then pulled me away from my dog as I screamed and fought as hard as I could. They overpowered me, and my heart sunk into the pit of my stomach. Two of the men continued to hold me as their leader slowly began to walk over to me. He was as evil looking as the devil himself.

“What are you holding?” the leader asked while ripping the lockett out of my hand. I was silent, still in shock from the events that had just happened. All I could think of was Jack. Him lying there in the dirt and that terrible yelp he made as the knife cut into his neck. The leader examined the locket closely, his face lit up with a smile.

“WE FOUND IT BOYS!” he yells to his men. “Where did you find this?"

I remained silent. I had no words.

“WHERE DID YOU FIND THIS!” He yells while striking me across the face.

My ears were ringing from the power of his swing, my eyes began to water. Devastated with the loss of my dog, all I was able to say to the leader, in the voice of someone who has lost everything was, “Fuck you.”

Almost immediately after those two words left my mouth, all I remember is his fist hitting me right in the temple. The world began to fade to darkness.

I woke up. It was hours later. It’s dark, it’s raining and I'm laying face down in the mud. Across from me is Jack. I crawl to him. The maggots have already settled into his flesh. I reach for his paw and pull him close, scraping off the insects from his wound and fur. The town surrounding us was burnt to ashes. Dead bodies were sprawled out in the streets and Wess was hung from the center of the well. Through all this darkness, I look to the city and watch as a surge of light flashes from the Monarch Palace. They did it. The key, the power, the greed; all together in one fucked up moment, in the hands of soulless people.

For years I strayed away from the horror of the Monarch's Reign, but no longer will I hide away; no longer will I stand by and let them walk the Earth. First I will bury my friend, Jack, then I will start a war.

Sci Fi
1

About the Creator

Angela Ebell-Solomon

I'm a writer

Period

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.