Fiction logo

Manglik

By Brandsandu.com

By BrandsanduPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Sana answered the phone. It was from her would-be husband, Raj.

Sana: Hello, sweetheart. How are you doing?

Raj: Hello.

Sana: You sounded distressed. Is everything in order?

Rajesh: I agree. I had something to say.

Sana: I’m paying attention.

Raj: My parents took our horoscopes to an astrologer today. There appears to be a problem with yours. You are Manglik, he remarked.

Sana: What am I?

Raj: That whoever marries you will perish.

(laughing) Sana: Do you believe it? This is ridiculous.

No, Raj. Especially when a person’s life is on the line.

Sana: Can you tell me what you’re trying to say?

Raj: I don’t think we can go any farther with this.

He stopped the call before she could say anything else. Suddenly, a match she thought was created in paradise pulled her down to hell. Her parents made many requests to the groom’s family over several days, but they refused to budge. She accepted her fate and moved on, even though she does not believe in such things.

Three years have gone by. She made a close friend in Jai as she adjusted to her new life. He was a joyful-go-lucky guy who was also serious about his responsibilities, which she admired.

Jai summoned her for a meeting one day. They met, and after their usual banter, she inquired as to why they were meeting.

“My parents selected out a match for me,” he said afterward.

She acknowledged her amazement by saying, “Wow…umm… that’s good.”

“I liked her as well. I’m just curious about your thoughts on her.” He took out his phone, opened a photo, and handed it to her, he said.

She was disappointed to learn that he was leaving with another woman. She snatched his phone with a broken heart, hoping to see that girl, but instead she was staring at her photograph.

Her eyes glistened with tears. She wanted to accept, but she couldn’t because of her haunted past. So she kept her cool and replied,

“She isn’t the right fit for you.”

He was confident that she would accept his proposal, but her rejection caught him off guard. He quickly inquired as to why.

She lied, saying, “Because she doesn’t feel the same way about you.”

“But her eyes indicate otherwise,” he said with a smile. Tell it like it is.”

“I don’t know what to say. Just leave me alone.” She murmured this while wiping her tears away.

He took a step towards her. “Hey, you know I can’t leave you, and neither can you,” he said, holding her hands in his. So, what exactly is the issue?”

“I am a Manglik,” she added, staring at him.

He appeared perplexed. “It indicates that, according to my horoscope, whoever marries me will die,” she explained. And then she went on to talk about her past relationship.

“I never imagined you would believe this shit,” he joked after listening to her.

“I never used to,” she says. But I don’t want to put others in danger.”

“Oh, my God. Okay. Allow me to share my tale with you. My mother was told by an astrologer when I was born that I would die at the age of ten. She didn’t seem to mind, and as you can see, I’m still not out.”

Her eyes twinkled with optimism. She pondered, “What if it turns out to be true?” “If that happens, I’ll be happy to spend my final days with you,” he said.

She remained silent. “Listen, nobody but us can decide our fate,” he said again. So don’t worry about it.

She smiled and nodded. “So, do you accept my proposal?” Jai asked, satisfied. With a hug, she gratefully accepted him.

They’ve been married for three months. Her in-laws visited them one day. While Jai was outside with his father, Sana was drinking tea and talking to his mother about his upbringing. Except for the astrologer incident, her mother-in-law told her everything. Sana was intrigued and inquired about it.

“How did you feel when that astrologer told you about Jai, Aunty?”

“Which astrologer are you talking about? Sana, what are you talking about?” she retorted

“When Jai was born, he informed me that one astrologer prophesied that he would die at the age of ten,” she said again, puzzled. “Don’t you recall”?

“No astrologer has ever foreseen such a thing. I believe you were perplexed, or perhaps he…” Her mother-in-law was speaking quickly, but she couldn’t hear anything. Her happy smile morphed into a frantic one. Her mind was filled with endless ideas about her decision and, more significantly, about his fate.

Her conscience couldn’t take it any longer and give up. Her cup was the first to fall, followed by her.

It’s been 25 years.

Sana went to the temple and approached the priest quietly. She requested that he perform Pooja in the name of Jai. The priest returned with the Prasad, as she had requested. She snatched it from him and walked backward. The priest thought to himself as he watched her fade away.

“It had been 25 years since she had done this routine alone on this day. I’ve always been curious about who that person is. Is he still living or has he passed away? Only God is aware.” He sighed and returned to his routine.

Sana hopped into the automobile outside the temple. She then wished the individual behind her seat a Happy Birthday while applying tilak. He returned the smile. She then let out a sigh of relief.

“I was hoping you’d accompany me to the temple this time.”

He said, “You know I won’t waste my time on these things.”

“Keep in mind that it is because of these things that you are still alive.”

“Or maybe it’s only your love for me that keeps me alive,” Jai quickly responded.

She reddened a little. “I always have to think twice about whether what you say is true or not,” she said. I’m perplexed by everything.”

“Then why don’t you just leave me?” says the narrator. He mocked her, “You didn’t need to worry about me and you could have lived blissfully.”

“Perhaps it is your love that prevents me from doing so.” She gave a response. They both laughed heartily as they peered into one other’s eyes.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Brandsandu

Brandsandu Is A Complete 360 ° Branding & Digital Marketing Company In Delhi & Ncr Providing A Complete Solution From Branding To Social Media, From Public Relations To Media Buying To Interactive Solutions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.