Fiction logo

Lunar Eclipse

The Blood Moon

By Kaiya HaneyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

It all stopped working. The planes, cars, phones, everything. They said it was the moon, the scientists. Or, at least they did, before they died. It isn’t just them though, it’s everybody. Everybody is dead; I don’t know why. Why They all died, or why I didn’t die. Nobody knew what was happening and I still don’t. The only thing we knew was that nothing was working and everybody was going crazy. I don’t just mean from stress I mean crazy. Like something clicked in their brain and they just went psycho. For a while people were being put into asylums, but eventually they ran out of space. Or, they just went crazy themselves. It’s still a mystery how they died. One day all of the screaming just stopped; it was so quiet. It only took a month and everybody was gone. There was a lunar eclipse that night; it was so beautiful. I was sitting outside looking at it when a tiny rock fell onto my lap. I assumed it may have been an asteroid that didn’t quite make it, but I kept it. I held onto it until I went inside for the rest of the night. I placed it in my pocket and searched for something to put it in. Eventually, I found a heart shaped locket and put it in there. I still wear it to this day. Everytime I take it off I get a horrible head ache. I don’t really know why, but I’ve decided not to question it. I mean, it keeps me alive, right? This all happened a year ago. I still lie awake at night wondering. Wondering how and why it happened. I may not ever get my answer, but that may be for the best. I like to think to myself that I’m some sort of superhuman. I have these special powers that made me immune to whatever happened. Even though I know it’s not quite true, it’s comforting. You kind of start going crazy after being alone for so long. I still wonder why the scientists said it was the moon. I mean how could the moon cause the end of the world? It’s a giant floating rock. I guess we’ll never know now. I would try to look at their notes but I doubt I’d get anything out of it. I’ve never been the best at science. Anyway, the moon has slowly been coming closer, so has the sun. Not very much but just enough that it’s noticeable. The moon never lost its red tint either. It still creeps me out a little bit but I’ve gotten used to it. And it’s been getting hotter. Not like bipolar weather, I mean there’s not even much snow in the winter. If there’s any at all. It’s like they’re both magnets slowly being dragged towards each other but in slow motion. I fear that maybe one day the moon will crash into Earth or it will be burnt to a crisp by the sun, maybe even both. It’s not an irrational fear, they're both very much possible. I just wish it wasn’t. Sometimes, at night, my necklace will pull in the direction of the moon. It's like a magnetic pull, like I said the sun and moon are doing. It’s super cool, I think. It’s gotten a little bit stronger though. Ever since the moon got closer. One night I woke up not being able to breathe. The necklace was being pulled so tight I had a red mark on my neck the next morning. I had to move my bed to the other wall so it would stop choking me. I wonder what would happen if I let it go. If I just took it off and let it get pulled away. I wonder if I’ll die, or if the moon will give me mercy. I guess we won’t know until it happens. I might as well try.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Kaiya Haney

I hope to expand my career in writing and inspire others to start theirs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.