Fiction logo

Love for Granite

When we part

By SharonSharpePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Love for Granite
Photo by Farrinni on Unsplash

She was love personified. The first moment I met her I knew that the raven-haired wonder that entranced my soul would be my wife. I grew to cherish the feel of her hand in mine, our fingers slotting together like puzzle pieces: perfect but too easily separated. The cold slab that marks the resting place for her earthly shell is a meager representation of her warmth, but it is all I have now. No warm lips pressed to my skin. No soft smiles amidst the tousled sheets. No laughter. Only frigid etched stone until our souls unite again.

Short StoryLove
Like

About the Creator

SharonSharpe

It started with Bloody. He was a six-eyed heart monster that my 2nd grade brain conjured up to delight and terrify my peers. I am a fanfic writer (A03), an aspiring author, and hold an M.A in English.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.