Fiction logo

Maris

Therapy with a Beluga

By SharonSharpePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Sunlight filtered through the slightly frosted glass above my head. The rays flickered across the surface of the water danced along the surface as the first beluga popped its head up from the water. A smile involuntarily spread across my face and I had to force herself to focus on what the instructor was saying.

“Once you step in give yourself a few seconds for the suit to fill up with water. That water layer is going to keep you warm, even though its fifty-five degrees,” the woman laughed.

This had been a dream of mine for a while. Ever since I had pressed my hand to the chilly glass on my first day of work and had been greeted by the flurry of muffled clicks that followed; I wanted to meet the sea canaries in person. Now, as I stood at the very edge of their home I felt almost giddy with excitement. Before I could think any further the instructor was lead me closer to the edge and to the stairs built into the rockface. I took a slow steadying breath and stepped into the water.

“Ahhh!!” my brain cried out at the frigid cold raced through my body.

Just as the instructor had said, the further in I stepped the more a thin layer of cold water seeped into the suit, but by the time I reached the ledge where the instructor waited it had begun to warm. Since the initial shock of the water had worn off, I could turn her attention back to the main reason I was there. Just under the surface of the water, two massive bodies twirled amongst the rocks. The instructor lifted her whistle to her mouth and blew a short burst.

An unhindered gasp fell from my lips as the beluga popped its head up just an arm’s length away. I resisted the urge to reach out and place my hand on the whale bobbing slightly in front of me.

“This is..”

“Maris,” I finished, immediately recognizing the soft almost smiling face that I had seen on my very first day of work a few years prior.

The instructor smiled softly and handed me a fish to feed the beluga. My hand trembled as I reached out and tossed the fish into the beluga’s expectant mouth. With a gulp it was gone and a joy like no other skittered through my body. The joy was replaced by unabashed sorrow when my fingers slid along the soft slightly rubbery skin. Instantly I was carried back to a different day in my mind as the beluga clicked happily and opened her mouth for another fish.

I finished the final drops of slightly cold coffee in the Styrofoam cup I had gotten from the breakroom and tossed it into the trashcan at the entrance to the gallery.

Cold Water Quest

The sign above read in light blue letters with snow caps surrounding it. Twenty minutes before opening. Twenty minutes before the beginning of my first day on the Interpretive Programs team. As I walked into the gallery, I took a steadying breath, trying to focus on the upcoming day and not the fear that had been building in my gut since I got the call confirming I had the job. What if this didn’t work? What if I couldn’t find a place of my own? The soft repetitive music filled my ears as the aquarium got ready to open. I checked my watch. Fifteen minutes. I swallowed hard trying to focus on the slight chill in the gallery as I made my way over to the beluga habitat. Belugas had always been my favorite animals. They were so massive, yet so elegant. Not to mention their ability to copy sounds. I simply watched them for a moment as they swam around, then disappeared into the hidden part of their habitat around the corner. They didn’t return for a moment and a sinking feeling of loneliness took hold of me. I sighed and pressed my back to the acrylic; the cold helped calm me slightly as I sank to the ground. Suddenly, the sound of bubbles behind me filled my ears. When I turned the female beluga that I had learned was named Maris swam there. I turned and looked into her eyes and let the tears fall. I knelt and pressed my forehead to the acrylic while Maris went to breathe on occasion then came right back to stop in front of me. When my watch alarm went off to signal the start of my shift, I felt more optimistic that things were going to be okay.

I refocused, slightly embarrassed that I had been so focused on the memory and hadn’t heard a word the instructor said.

“It’s okay, we’ve all had those moments,” the instructor said as she blew the whistle and Maris dove down and then breeched sending a splash of cold-water showering over us.

Laughter fell from my lips as the beluga came back into view and a splash war ensued. A few minutes later I followed the instructor out of the tank and chanced a look back to the water. Maris bobbed at the edge watching I closely.

“Thank you,” I whispered softly.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

SharonSharpe

It started with Bloody. He was a six-eyed heart monster that my 2nd grade brain conjured up to delight and terrify my peers. I am a fanfic writer (A03), an aspiring author, and hold an M.A in English.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    I wish I knew where all my writings from childhood went. I moved around a lot. Treasure them. Keep doing you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.