Fiction logo

Lotus coming out of crystal-clear water

Lotus coming out of crystal-clear water

By Gottlieb LylePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Lotus coming out of crystal-clear water
Photo by Matt Hardy on Unsplash

Once chatting with my old classmates, he said: "Looking at these greasy women around me reminds me of Tan Wenke's classmates. She is really a lotus in clear water." I can't help but sigh that this male student's words are really appropriate. "Lotus comes out of clear water" is often used by trendy love novels or small fresh meat to express the highest praise for girls. Such an abstract word falls into reality, only Tan Wenke.

Tan Wenke was my classmate in junior high school. During one and a half years of classmates, I had an intersection with her for about one week. As a model student who studies hard, I don't care much about female students. Even though she has swept the hearts of the whole class, mingled with the girls and became the beauty of boys' mouth, she appears frequently in boys' gossip, but this is not enough to arouse my interest.

Occasionally, during the class break, I looked up and saw Tan Wenke, who was laughing and laughing in the corridor. Her side face looked like my idol, and the feeling of moving seemed to come in a flash. I stared at it from a distance. When the bell rang, her beautiful figure appeared at the door, which stood out from the crowd. While she continued to tease with the girls, she also rotated the shuttlecock on her palm with high technology. At that moment, I almost used the phrase "clear water gives birth to lotus" to describe her, and my mood immediately fell.

During a week, I looked for every opportunity to turn my head to look at her behind her. My eyes swept by, seemingly inadvertently, but my heart throbbed, and occasionally I met her eyes. My deskmate also asked me curiously several times what happened, saying that I looked a little strange. But no one saw my mind, and Tan Wenke, who looked at me in the eye, didn't notice it. Her eyes were clear with a sincere smile, just like other students. Maybe the identity of "model student" covered me. Fortunately, a week later, the fiery heart finally calmed down, perhaps because of the urgency of the senior high school entrance examination, or because of the difference between her and her idol. Therefore, Tan Wenke was put aside as a pure girl in my memory.

Meet again, it was the summer vacation after the senior high school entrance examination, on my way to Tan Qiuliang's classmate's home.

I'm not familiar with the road there, but I'm looking around, and I see a quiet and simple peasant girl busy with housework, thinking, this girl is more like a girl in a country movie. I'm embarrassed to stare at it, and I turn to the beginning and walk away. Suddenly someone calls my name. The line of sight, I immediately blurted out her name, is Tan Wenke classmate. A suit of casual clothes, with more local flavor in school, is more plump and attractive. She greeted me warmly, and in strange scenes and greetings, she had the intimacy of meeting an old friend in another country. This was the most and most eager conversation between us, and it seemed to be the only one. And then say goodbye, after walking out of a road, it seems that there is still a trace of joy swimming in my heart. I can't help but look back, but Tan Wenke also happens to look back. So, we waved to each other again, and the smiles on our faces probably only gave us a feeling that the other party couldn't see it, but they all forgot to ask each other about the middle school they passed.

And then for many years. A few junior high school students get together, I suddenly think of Tan Wenke, then ask about her recent situation. One of my classmates told me that Tan Wenke from innocent girl went back to his alma mater to teach and educate people after taking part in work, married a private entrepreneur who could shelter from the wind and rain, and lived a petty bourgeois life with no worries about food and clothing. Now she is still charming and charming, and deserves the title of "Lotus in Clear Water". She is 90% full, and misses her dream lover ... The whole mood has been upset by this sudden news. In front of my eyes, the few and profound scenes in my memory emerged again and again. The elegant and beautiful girl at the door of the classroom turned the shuttlecock smartly, and the handsome and vulgar youth at the door of her house looked back and said goodbye, with a bright smile and gentle eyes. I stopped in the air with my hand holding the glass, probably because my jealous heart was knocked over. Of course, no one will notice my loss. My relationship with Tan Wenke was so weak during my classmates. Later, meeting at her door was just a secret episode between Tan Wenke and me, not a story. It's just that the personnel maintained by the emotional tape that seems to have if not, but it just gave me such a sad sigh of life.

At this moment, Tan Wenke almost won the favor of all her classmates, and she should have a different charm. Everyone feels comfortable with her, which probably comes from her oblivious state. It seems that everyone commented on her refreshing appearance and peaceful temperament, and she is also unconscious; At that time, her academic performance was not ideal and she was in no hurry.

I couldn't help wondering about her family background, and always felt that there would be no youth with her temperament in the village where our junior high school is located. Informed classmates said that her father is the head of their village, don't you know? At that time, I hardly got involved in all kinds of gossip, and many well-known things might not be known. At that time, the village head, in my mind, was a big, big "official". I said, didn't the children of the village head look a little domineering, or pampered, and wouldn't they look a little "greasy"? But Tan Wenke is so low-key and calm! I was amused by everyone. But I still feel a little relieved in my heart, pure and beautiful, good family conditions, strict family discipline, these things should not damage her nature!

Later, I heard "You at the Same Table" created by Mr. Gao Xiaosong: "Who married the sentimental you, who put up your long hair, and who made your wedding dress …" The female students described in the lyrics are both beautiful and pure, so as to express the author's nostalgia for the talented female deskmate. Of course, the song also reminded me of my memories many times, especially the relaxed melody of this song. When the music sounded, it directly pulled me back to the 1980 s. That period of green campus time reminded me of Tan Wenke's classmate, La La La La La La ...

Short Story

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    GLWritten by Gottlieb Lyle

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.