Fiction logo

Lost

Realistic Fiction

By Abbi LucasPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
Like

New friend

"Wake up Shery! Wake up!" Said a loud annoying voice above me as I lay in my comfy, warm bed. My brother Alvin (or Mouse as I call him) was standing above me shaking me hard, trying successfully, to wake me. I heard my dog Trev barking loudly from outside, I sat up with a start and my brother fell with a loud thud to the floor. I looked out my window and saw my big German Shepherd, rolling in the bright green grass under the warm sun that lay already halfway across the sky. I looked over and saw Mouse, who was eight, looking at me with anticipation. He is very small and slim with short golden, messy hair. He has icy blue eyes and a smile that went from ear to ear. He was wearing some jeans with a baggy, very stained white shirt. "Go, I'll be there in a minute" I said with a laugh and a slight look for him to leave, "And close the door" I yelled as he left.

I got up and walked over to my big shiny mirror and saw myself. I am 13 and pretty tall for my age, about 5'8, with long light brown hair. I have a pretty slim figure, with dark freckles across my face and two bright blue eyes. I put on a pink summer dress, then walked out the door to meet my brothers.

"This tastes like sh-" "Hey! Watch your language". My brothers were arguing over breakfast noisily, it smelled strongly of burnt chocolate pancakes. It was easy to see why they were yelling. Mouse was slouching and looking at his charcoal colored pancakes and making a gagging motion which upset the person who had made them. My other brother Nolan, who was the oldest at 17, was standing in the kitchen wearing a purple fluffy apron. Underneath he had on some dark jeans with a tight green shirt and loose black sweater on top. Hair that was shorter than Mouse's and the same color as mine was on top of Nolan's head, well kept. His eyes were sharp and a light green, glaring at Mouse as he insulted his cooking.

"Oh, you're awake! Would you like some pancakes?" Nolan asked me suddenly, "Uhh, I'm not hungry- Thanks though" I replied as kindly as I could. Nolan looked at the smoldering pancakes in the pan he was holding, and decided at last that it was inedible and dumped it in the trash. "Can I throw mine out too, please?" Mouse pleaded holding up his plate while looking up at Nolan, he ran over to the garbage after an approving nod from my oldest brother. I walked quickly towards the door and heard both my brothers footsteps follow behind me.

Trev ran up to me slobbering with an open mouthed smile, panting and wagging his tail furiously. Looking back, I saw my brothers holding Trev's long green leash. It was hard to attach the leash to My dogs collar because he was jumping with excitement. After it was attached, my brothers and I ended up going for a twenty or so minute walk. The second the sun set with a beautiful glow to the horizon, we decided to get something to eat on our joyful way back home (Trev got some of our food, lucky boy). As we got to the gray sidewalk in front of my house, I looked forward and saw a black crack in between the door and doorframe. I could tell Nolan noticed this too as I watched him run in front of me.

"Stay behind me" Nolan told me and Mouse in a stern voice as he walked cautiously forward, he walked on to the old wooden deck in front of the house and pushed the door open with a loud creak. We all peered into the darkness inside the house, watching and waiting impatiently for something to happen. CRASH- Came from inside the house, Nolan rushed in and turned on the light to catch the unlucky intruder. Laughing on the ground hysterically, I saw a small kitten inside and my brother standing like he was ready to fight. Once I was able to gather myself, I stared at the adorable fluffy, small kitten. She had bright green eyes and was gray with white spots, very different from our big black and brown dog with piercing brown eyes. My youngest brother walked into the house past my now embarrassed older brother, he watched the kitten as he walked and the kitten did the same. Once Mouse got to the kitten, he picked her up and she started purring loudly, then he stared at the eldest with sparkling puppy dog eyes. "Fine, but only if Trev likes her " Nolan sighed, almost at que, Trev walked over and sniffed at the small fluff ball in Mouse's arms. Trev put his nose right before the kitten and sniffed, then painted the baby's face in slobber and rested his head beside it, smiling approvingly.

Me and mouse stayed inside while Nolan went to get a few things for our new friend, we decided on naming the kitten Taffy. As we were all playing in the dark Nolan finally came home with a bag of things for Taffy, we set it all up and headed off to bed. It was a short day but it was tiring. Taffy slept with Mouse, Trev slept with Nolan, and I laid in bed and watched the stars until I dozed off to sleep.

The mail

It was early in the morning when I stumbled tiredly to the kitchen. My older brother was the only one there, he did not look tired at all, he was already making scrambled eggs which looked and smelled wonderful (unlike the "pancakes” from yesterday's breakfast). "Oh, Hello Shery!" Nolan said in what seemed like surprise "Since you're up already, Wanna go wake up Mouse for me please?" "Sure thing" I replied. I walked quietly to Mouse's room to surprise him awake, I got to the door and opened it slowly. Once the door opened enough for me to see inside his room I looked at his bed to see him fast asleep, snoring under his blankets. I walked up to him in almost tip-toe and looked down on him. He was in a deep sleep and he looked so warm and comfortable. "WAKE UP!" I yelled as I jumped onto Mouse's bed and he almost hit the roof as he jumped awake, he looked around startled. "Get offff!" Mouse whined as he tried kicking me off his bed, I got off and told him that his awakening was Nolan's fault. I ran towards the kitchen as Mouse followed after me, the smell of eggs filled my nose as I entered the kitchen. I sat down at the table where three plates of delicious looking eggs sat and as Mouse met me at the chair beside me, I dug in. Nolan sat beside me soon after I started eating and we all polished our plates of eggs.

Out of the three of us, only Nolan was dressed. I felt like a lazy day so I decided to stay in my cozy pajamas, apparently Mouse had the exact same thought as me. "I'm gonna go listen to some music in my room for a bit" I told my brothers after I put my dishes in the sink. I walked to my room which had a warm soft feel to the room, I closed the door quickly behind me so as to not let the great dreamy feeling out of the room. I noticed taffy sleeping happily on the foot of my bed, I turned on my radio and joined her. I laid on my back beside her and listened to my soft and calm music, I closed my eyes to the hallucinatory feeling, and fell into a deep sleep.

I awoke to a cool breeze coming through my now wide open window. I closed the window and saw that it was the middle of the night, only lit up by the starry sky and full bright moon above. I looked back towards my bed and noticed that Taffy had left me. I wasn't very tired so I decided to get a glass of water and then try to go back to sleep. I walked to my door that was slightly ajar and opened it wide, the walls looked weird as I walked towards the kitchen in my sleepy phase. I walked towards the dark kitchen but somehow ended up at an odd door. It was familiar but did not belong to my house, so I hesitantly turned the doorknob and pushed the door open slowly. Dim light flooded in through the crack in the door, filling the room the more the door opened, suddenly I heard faint laughter in the distance and decided to follow it. I got to a grassy yard once I walked through the door and saw four people, two adults and two young children.

One adult had bright emerald eyes with shiny blonde hair that touched the ground, she had freckles that made her eyes stand out. She had on a flowy blue dress with a white belt and bow on the stomach which was rounder than a usual person's belly, she was beautiful against the starry blue sky. Beside her holding a child was a man with messy brown hair that was shorter than the grass below him and icy blue eyes barely visible beneath his hair, he wore a dark pair of jeans and a red and black striped shirt. The other child was older looking in the grass beside the others, he was chasing a firefly, the light lit his face and showed piercing green eyes like the woman's and brown shaggy hair like the mans. He was wearing a pink shirt 5 sizes too big. The last child in the man's lap looked like the man but with the woman's freckles, she looked similar, all these people did. I realized then that this was a memory of my parents and me and my older brother, suddenly I heard my mom scream and the world started spinning, blurring my vision and ending with my jumping up off my bed and Taffy skidding out of my room. I was back in the real world.

I decided to get dressed in something comfy and cool since I got more than enough sleep and left my room to see what my brothers were doing, not too surprisingly I found them wrestling in the living room, and less surprisingly I saw Trev trying to bite Nolan as he wrestled Mouse to the ground. I stood there for a second thinking about the helpfulness of them doing this and then decided it would be fun and tackled Nolan, Mouse jumped on him and started tickling him until Nolan admitted defeat.

Me and mouse were playing a board game and the pets where fighting on the floor when all of a sudden the door opened, Nolan walked in with a letter in his hands and his eyes down reading it. He looked at us with an expression that I couldn't make out, he opened his mouth to speak but said nothing and handed me the letter instead. I read it out loud for Mouse to hear and it said:

Decisions

"W-what? Grace? Whos that" spilled from my mouth as I looked up at Nolan, "We have an aunt? She wants us to.. to come live with her?!" Alvin yelled angrily, sounding confused. There was silence as we stared at Nolan for answers. He looked down at us and opened his mouth "I know Grace. Dad told me about her when I was younger , she hurt mom badly and they left Grace to keep us safe. All I know for certain is that we are not going to live with her."

I laid in my bed after a day of boredom and a supper with silence, thinking about the letter from earlier while a breeze from my window came in. I felt Trev jump up on my bed as I looked out the window at the night sky, I tried to think of Grace but I couldn't remember her. "We are fine living by ourselves, we don't need to live with Grace." I thought stubbornly as I turned away from my window and patted Trev on his head after he laid down beside me. I wasn't tired but it was late and I knew I needed to sleep, so I closed my eyes and tried not to think about the day I had, I laid there for about an hour before I decided trying to sleep was a waste of time.

I creeped out of bed trying not to wake Trev and left my room, I walked to the front door and sat on the front step, it was cool but very nice. I closed my eyes and listened to the crickets for a while, I heard the door open and footsteps from the door to right beside me. "Cant sleep?" Alvin asked and I nodded "Me neither. I can't stop thinking about the letter we got. I didn't even know we had an aunt!-" "Shhhh, be quit." I told him while opening my eyes and turning my head towards him. I laid on the steps and Mouse rested his head on me, I watched the stars and heard him snoring after a bit, I fell cozily asleep soon after.

Shall I continue?

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.