Fiction logo

Little Wisps

A Story Every Day in 2024 May 27th 148/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 27 days ago 2 min read
Little Wisps
Photo by Eric BARBEAU on Unsplash

"You're a fool! What were you thinking?"

He's right. I am a fool and an old one at that. I was thinking, or at least, I think I was thinking about, oh, it escapes me now, but I know that it was important and so, I was focused on that, whatever it was.

"Let's get your hand under the tap, quick!"

Oh, that water's really cold! Oh, it's almost as bad as the burning. Yes, it seered, so sharp, and I can remember wondering what I'd done. I must have put it on something hot. Did I forget the thingy? I did that once when I was little. I picked up a kettle and the lid wasn't on properly and I hadn't noticed and the steam was bursting out the top, like an angry word and it hit my hand and I dropped it, and oh, my mother did go mad.

"There. The water's helping. Let's just keep your hand there now."

I can feel it tingling, tingling with hot and cold. What did I forget? I want to dry my hands.

"Just leave it there, just a bit more and then, we'll have a look at it."

I'm doing more and more strange things of late. The other day I watered the plants with bleach or at least, that's what Glenn said I did. He came home from golf and I was pouring Domestos into the ficus we have in the lounge. He asked me what I was doing and I looked down and saw that I wasn't holding a jug. I think I'd left it somewhere. I knew I had to clean the toilet and had picked up bleach instead, I suppose.

"There we go, love. You sit there. I don't think you've got too much damage. I caught you just in time."

I won't be able to catch anything. My hand is hurting.

"I'll sort the dinner, love. You just sit there."

I don't know what I'd do without Glenn. I don't like it when he leaves the house.

I'm losing myself. Glenn says I'm okay. My mind....

Little wisps. Trying to grasp. Disappearing into nothing, just like the steam of that kettle.

***

366 words

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

148/366

Short StoryPsychologicalMicrofictionLove

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • angela hepworth26 days ago

    So poignant, Rachel. Your word choice is pristine here, and you truly capture the dread, confusion, and fear of such tragic mental deterioration.

  • Rachel, the way you take an everyday event and make your reader feel attached and invested in the characters experiencing them is amazing! Bravo!

  • Christy Munson27 days ago

    Rendered so tenderly, without sentimentality. Love your story, though it tugs at my heart, which of course means, well written!!!

  • Gerard DiLeo27 days ago

    You’re so good at taking snippets of life and making them life itself. That’s talent.

  • D.K. Shepard27 days ago

    Very well done and very sad. The confusion coupled with the awareness that something is amiss is absolutely heartbreaking

  • John Cox27 days ago

    You capture her confusion due to the loss of short term memory perfectly in your story. I love how you connect the ‘wisps’ of memory back to the steam from the tea pot. Once again you have written an utterly convincing slice of life, Rachel! I loved it!

  • It is heartfelt. A great job!

  • Shirley Belk27 days ago

    Dementia is a terrible trick. Great job of describing it.

  • Sasi Kala27 days ago

    Really sad story:(

  • So sadly sweet… with Glenn trying his best. Effective stop, start thoughts… ‘My mind.... Little wisps. Trying to grasp. Disappearing into nothing, just like the steam of that kettle.’

  • D. J. Reddall27 days ago

    Considerable pathos is conjured by this narrative; the choice of the first person point of view was shrewd.

  • This was so sad 🥺 I wish I would be as patient as Glenn if the need ever arises

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.