Fiction logo

Lilac Scented Dreams (7)

chapter 7

By Kristina BrulePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

I haven’t talked to Noah for about a week now, he’s been avoiding me ever since I brought up the name Drussela. I don’t understand why he ran off like that. I think that maybe it is an ex’s name or something. I want to ask him but whenever he sees me he goes in the opposite direction. I've been alone without him, no one to really talk to and vent to. I can talk to Savannah but she’s always been judgy and mostly wants to talk about herself. Sitting on the couch pondering what I could have done wrong. I grab for a book to try to stop my mind from racing. Suddenly I get cold and get shivers. It's 95 degrees out, the sun shining and not a cloud in the sky, why am I cold.

Upon hearing knocking at my door I sit my book down, stand up, peek through the peephole, and see my mom. Opening the door and opening my arms for her and embracing each other. I ask what she’s doing here.

Smiling with no care in the world, her wrinkles get worse every time I see her. “ I just wanted to stop by and tell you how much I love you.”

“Thanks, mom I love you too, but you never stop by to just say I love you”. Shocked and a bit confused.

“I know but we don’t talk as much as we used to and I just wanted to check in on you. I love you and I care for you.” tearing up but still smiling her wrinkly smile. “I will always love you, no matter what. You are meant for great things you know? I’ve seen what you are capable of and there’s no doubt in my mind you will be a very powerful and strong woman. I have to go but just remember I love you.” without giving me a chance to say anything, walking away and getting in her car.

Slowly shutting the door and looking around outside She was gone already, sped off without a thought. Mind racing and thoughts flying everywhere. She’s never just stopped by before. Let alone to just tell me she loves me. Now that I think about it, the quick second I saw her car, it looked like she hit something. The bumper ripped off on the right side, I wonder what happened. Maybe she hit someone and decided life is too short to not tell people you love them. Maybe she is just getting lonely and feels old. She did have more gray hair than usual. Nevertheless, it was nice seeing her.

30 minutes had passed when I heard the sudden sound of the Ring. Ring. Ring. looking at my phone screen and I see “dad” on the phone.

“Chrissy?” My dad's voice barely sounds through the phone. Trembling and emotional.

“Dad, are you ok? What's wrong?” Worried that something happened as my dad never calls me unless it is important. Did they get divorced? Why else would mom stop by like that then dad calls me? Did someone die?? He said a few words to me and the rest were mumbled. Dropping my phone and sobbing the worst I have ever. Tears and snot poured down my nose like a mighty thunderstorm. Screaming in pain and shock. I don’t understand.

“Mom, mommy push me!” A little girl with black hair screams While running towards a set of swings. The swings are old and made of cracking wood, as if it might break if the wind touched it. Even so the little girl jumped on a swing while giggling and waiting for her mom. Kicking her feet in the air trying to push herself, but failing. Her mom calmly walks up to the swing set and starts to push the young girl. The mothers black hair flying in the wind.

“ Chrissy darling, Be careful I don’t want you to fall off and get hurt.” Worry lacing her soft voice.

“It's ok mommy, the man will catch me! He said he will always protect me.” Still giggling and kicking her feet on the swing.

“Well tell the man that you will protect yourself when you are older and won't need him for much longer.” Chrissy’s mom Nora always went along with Chrissy’s imaginary friends as she didn’t want to hurt her feelings, but Chrissy was almost 8 and Nora believed she was getting too old.

“He said he knows but until then he is here for me.” Kicking her feet even harder now, Chrissy yells, “Faster mommy, faster” Chrissy then starts to slip from the swing as it begins to wobble from the movement. The rope attached to the swing then snaps, causing a young chrissy to fall from the swing. Hitting the ground hard, a snap was heard from where Nora stood.

“Chrissy!” Nora screams and runs over to the young girl. Checking her for blood and broken bones. “Are you ok baby girl? Do you feel any pain? I thought I heard a bone break” Checking all of Chrissy’s bones they all seem fine.

“It’s ok mommy, he fixed them for me. I’m ok.” Giggling once again, she stands up and runs away while singing.

Three days later, dressed in all black, wearing dark makeup. Standing in a field of stone and misery. The clouds covering the mighty sun in the gloom. Lightning strikes in the background, thunder soon following. I don’t mind. Today’s the best day for a storm, as the skies are not the only ones sad and filled with anger. Slightly hoping that lightning strikes me down. People talking next to me sound like mere whispers, for I am only focused on one person. Staring at the ground the dirt is cracked and falling away from itself. I feel the sky start crying and my hair starts dripping, my dress soaking wet now. People start leaving and hiding underneath coats. Kneeling down and never leaving my spot, I too start crying. Looking at her coffin, seeing her being lowered in the ground. I can’t move, how can they just leave her? Covered in mud and sinking into the now wet and thick ground. I fall over and start screaming along with the thunder. A hand touching my shoulder, the sky stops raining and the sun is now shining. My mom smiled down at me, this time with no wrinkles and no gray patch.

“It’s ok honey, I’ll be here to help you through this. I love you.” With that, she was gone again. Just like when she was at my house. I looked over at the coffin and my mom's body was still laying there, peacefully. I’ve officially lost my mind.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Kristina Brule

I have loved writing since I can remember. I used to write songs and poems all the time growing up. I have two poetry books and one fiction book published. Every little thing I write has pecies inside of me that show who I am

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.