Fiction logo

Lilac Scented Dreams (6)

chapter 6

By Kristina BrulePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

“Find me, find me, and help me. Let me live a normal life, one that I never got just for a little bit. Once you think I am ready, help me. Help me remember who I was and who I can be. But if you notice, my people start to endure what they can not, even if I'm not ready, wake me up. I love you and we will meet again.” Ragged breath and tears running down her face, but don’t recognize her face or voice for some reason. It feels like a distant memory from someone else's head. I can feel her pain, heartbreak, sadness, and yet some tender love. A love I've never felt but longed for. She’s talking to someone who is also crying and in pain. I can’t see his face, it’s blurry and his voice is silent. I can see his mouth moving and I can hear noises but I can’t understand what he is saying. Reaching out to touch his face she says “ I will never leave you, please don’t cry, this is not the end and I will see you again.” With that, her face turned pale and her body went limp.

Grabbing the coffee pot to pour more coffee into my cup, I lean on the counter and sigh. “I don’t know Crissy, maybe your brain was just interrupting what Noah said in a way your nerdy book-reading self knows.” Savannah, my only friend says while sitting in my kitchen. Leaning against my kitchen chair, with her long blonde hair and blue eyes, her long leg crossed over the other one.

“I guess but it was weird, it wasn’t like my other dreams, I didn’t see the faces of the people in it. Oddly it felt like someone else's memory. I don’t know, maybe you’re right. I’m reading into something that isn’t there.” Sipping my coffee in defeat.

“Maybe you're psychic and can see other people’s memories, I mean you do have weird dreams all the time.” Laughing and drinking out of her cup. “Oooh let's use an Ouija board, maybe you can talk to ghosts.” Savannah nearly screams.

“Oh I don’t know about that, have you seen horror movies? It never ends well” Uncomfortably shifting my weight from one foot to the other.

“Oh come on you big baby, you never want to do anything fun. scary movies are fake dude. Let’s go to the store and buy one just for the fun of it.” You need that rush in your life, all you do is work. Remember all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.” Smirking her half-smile and working her charisma Savannah moves forward looking me in the eye, trying to prove a point no doubt.

Smiling and looking her back in the eye I say “ All play and no work makes Jack a mere toy.” Taking another sip of my coffee then sitting it down on the counter. “ But you're right, I guess we could do it but it won’t work.” sighing in defeat. She has her way with people, I don’t know how but she always gets what she wants, like magic. Jumping up in joy Savannah screams her awful “ happy scream” hurting anyone’s ears nearby.

“Ok so I went and got this board, it says to sit together and no one is to leave the table till we say goodbye or we could release whatever we are talking to.” Sitting down the board, Savannah nearly looked like a demon herself the way she was opening the packaging.

With both of our hands on the planchette, I ask, ``Is anyone there?” no movement. “Is this thing working?” defeatedly. Turning to look at my bored-looking friend. “I don’t think its working”

“Me either, here let me try. Hello? Is anyone there?” Again nothing but deafening silence. “Alright well, I’m leaving then.” standing up and grabbing her purse, while walking towards my front door. “ Bye Chrissy.” Shutting the door behind herself.

I’m thirsty, I think to myself. Standing up and grabbing a water bottle, I hear an odd scratching sound, like wood on wood. Walking back over to my table I see that the planchette has moved, from the middle of the board to “hello.” I sit down, shaking, and put both my hands on it and say. “Hello, is anyone there.?” Slowly it starts to move without my help. “ Are you a ghost?” off of yes slightly and back on it. “Are you evil?” it slides over to no. “ Why did you wait till Savannah left?” Slowly moving towards D, then R, U, S, another S, and E, L and, then A. “Drussela? What does that mean? I don’t understand.” “Goodbye.” as the planchette moves over it I can hear the words vaguely whispered in my ears.

Googling Drussela I find nothing but a list of baby names. I don’t understand why it would spell out a random name. Maybe it was the name of the ghost I was talking to, but why say goodbye right away? God, I’m so confused. I don’t even know who to tell or ask advice from. Savannah would just think I’m messing with her and Noah would think I’m crazy. Standing up as I hear someone knocking at my front door and walking over to it. I see those gorgeous eyes I can’t stop thinking about. “Hi, Noah what are you doing here?”

“Got bored and was wondering what you were doing.” His half-smile appeared on his face and showed off his dimple.

“Oh you know, the usual. Savannah and I tried using an Ouija board. Of course, nothing happened” Lying to him so he doesn’t think I’m psycho.

His face in shock and confusion,” And how did that go?” he asked, seemingly concerned.

As I said, it didn’t. But I do have a question for you.” Smiling at him trying to dodge the subject of my internal craziness. “What do you think of the name Drussela?”

Noah's face showed immense shock and hatred all at once. “Hey listen I gotta go I think I left my oven on. Bye.” running out the door without leaving me a second to react.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Kristina Brule

I have loved writing since I can remember. I used to write songs and poems all the time growing up. I have two poetry books and one fiction book published. Every little thing I write has pecies inside of me that show who I am

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.