Fiction logo

Lilac Scented Dreams (5)

Chapter 5

By Kristina BrulePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

The sun is shining and the sky is clear, sitting outside on a blanket enjoying the weather in my yard. Noah was sitting next to me enjoying the weather as well. Taking a bite of my turkey and cheese sandwich, I turn to Noah and say “Thank you for being a good friend to me, I haven’t really had someone to talk to in a while. It also helps that you live near me.” Giggling a nervous giggle due to my awkwardness. He puts his head on my shoulder and cracks a smile. After a short pause of silence, I look at my sandwich and I ask “How come you never eat?” Curious, as I have never seen him eat at work or out of work.

“I don’t eat much, I mostly just eat breakfast and a late snack, I guess I don’t have much of an appetite.” Ever so confidently he says but with a hint of nervousness. “Gotta keep in shape you know,” He said with the most awkward nervous giggle.

“First of all you look fine the way you are, second of all, you just don’t like my cooking I bet. Even though you’ve never even tried it. Does it smell and look that bad?” Waving my sandwich in his face laughing, him joining in making a face like he hasn’t smelt anything so nasty before.

“You know these last couple of weeks have been really fun with you, piggybacking on what you said I haven’t really had anyone to talk to in a while either. The last person I confided in and trusted died a long time ago. I see her almost every day though, in everyday things. She wasn’t the love of my life, she’s the love of my eternity. I miss her but I know she is still with me and one day we'll be together again.” The sun shining on his face shows that he is sad yet content. “Love is weird you know, people say they would follow the person they love into the depths of hell. Die for them even, but if that person actually died for them they get mad.” His eyes showed the smallest hint of sadness, tearing up just ever so slightly. “I just wish things didn’t end the way they did. I think back and make up scenarios in which things went differently. Sorry, I’m just rambling now.”

“No it’s ok Noah, It’s hard to lose someone you love, it’s even harder to love someone who isn’t here, or so I’m told anyway. I’ve never really loved someone like you have from the sounds of it. I’m jealous really, all I’ve ever wanted in my life was to love and be loved with everything. Mind, body, heart, and soul. You know?” With a faint smile and a small sad laugh escaping my lips. “I’m always here to talk, even if it's 2 am and I’m asleep, feel free to bang on my door to wake me up if need be. Everyone deserves someone to talk to.” His face is on my shoulder still, so close I can hear him breathing.

“Even you, you know? You can bang down my door and wake me up as well.” Looking up into my eyes and as a trance, I felt myself being pulled into his. We hang out almost every day, he is mysterious and yet so familiar. There’s something about him that makes me want to be with him all the time, not in a creepy crush way. He's comfortable and alluring.

Pondering if she should dare ask such an awkward question Chrissy stumbles. ”What was she like?”

Silence for a moment then with such passion and sad filled words Noah spoke. “She was..no is brave, beautiful, stubborn, caring, she loved flowers. She has a way with words that can make you love, cry or be filled with fear. No matter if it hurt her she would do her best to help others.No one will ever compare to her she was godly.”

“She sounds amazing, I wish I got to meet someone like her, sounds like someone I want to be.”

The sky darkens and thunder screams near us, causing both of us to jump and laugh. Rain crying from the skies as if it was too sad. “Oh no my blankets and the food!” I exclaimed while also laughing. “Oh well, they’re already soaking wet.” Noah picks up my food and puts it in the basket I brought it out in. We both scramble to pick the blankets off the ground and onto the porch. “ Good thing I love the rain. Hey, let’s dance!” I almost screamed in excitement.

“ We could have a competition! I bet I'll win, I’ve had a lot of practice.” Noah says while doing the sprinkler. With that we spent the rest of lunch on that Saturday afternoon dancing in the rain, doing stupid dances.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Kristina Brule

I have loved writing since I can remember. I used to write songs and poems all the time growing up. I have two poetry books and one fiction book published. Every little thing I write has pecies inside of me that show who I am

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.