Fiction logo

Leap

Based on a true event with one of my best friend’s who passed away, Frances

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
Leap
Photo by Shlomi Platzman on Unsplash

we stood on the diving board, restless. I could feel our feet dancing, pitter-pattering, sloshing wet, dirty and scraping against the board’s itchy, scratchy material.

“You do it,” she says.

“No; you do it,” I say.

We laugh.

I’m too scared, I won’t admit it. It looks too high and the water too low. People were waiting.

Suddenly, I hear her tumbling out, her feet flying out in front of me.

I get the nerve, I jump immediately after her.

The weightlessness of jumping off such a height, so exhilarating, it was like time stopped.

We share a smile.

Whew!

Young AdultShort Story
3

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    It really does look higher from up on top. And I never could breathe while falling.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Beautiful poem , spread are wings and take a leap of faith , great message 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.