Fiction logo

Invisible

-inspired by the Edgar Allan Poe, Anabel Lee

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
8
Invisible
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

“I heard… t-that if a ghost talks to you in a dream, be prepared to die,” I choked out at my dearly departed beloved.

Her ghostly cries echo past her lips, time stands still yet moves quickly. “What about a kiss?” She whispers far away, yet the words hit my ear.

I fall back in terror with tears down my face.

“It’s impossible…darling… You’re gone..!”

Suddenly, I feel an enveloped chill cut through my throat and melt into my whole body—-I feel like I’m floating and she whispers with a kiss:

“Try to write this feeling down, my poet lover…”

LoveHorror
8

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a year ago

    If the original poem is any indication, this is a "consummation devoutly to be wished" by the protagonist! Lovely! Here's my microfiction piece if you've the time: https://vocal.media/fiction/the-creature-lurks

  • Ooooooo...! I love this. This is a powerful piece of micro-fiction.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I hope not, I dreamt of my dearly departed grandmother so many times😊 I still enjoyed the poem ❤️

  • Tremendous writing 📝😉❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.