Fiction logo

Lake Effect

A yearly problem in Chicago

By David E. PerryPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
5
Lake Effect
Photo by Filip Bunkens on Unsplash

Let me tell you a story. What I have to say is true. It happened just a few days ago. A mysterious cloud of dihydro-monoxide formed over the Atlantic Ocean not far from the coast of Florida. Carried by strong winds it moved North to colder climates. This caused the cloud to crystallize. The wind carried it westward over Lake Michigan, increasing its intensity. The now heavier cloud began to break apart. It dumped crystallized dihydro-monoxide on Chicago and its suburbs.

This event happened in the middle of the night. The citizens of Chicago were aware that bad weather was headed their way. They did not, however, know exactly how bad it would be. When, my neighbor, James Carrington awoke, he got ready for work just as he had done every workday for many years. He opened his front door only to realize that he was trapped inside. The dihydro-monoxide formed a white blanket 2 feet deep. There was no way through it. Mr. Carrington was forced to do the one thing that he had never done before. Call off work.

“Mr. Logan”, he said, “I’m sorry, but I can’t come in today. I’m trapped inside my house.”

“The office is closed today.”, Mr. Logan responded. “Didn’t you get the memo?”

The office had never closed in the 20 years I’ve been there.

The white blanket continues to cover the land. Special trucks with plows were made to clear it from the roads. Maybe life will return to normal.

Short StoryMicrofictionHumor
5

About the Creator

David E. Perry

Writing gives me the power to create my own worlds. I'm in control of the universe of my design. My word is law. Would you like to know the first I ever wrote? Read Sandy:

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • David E. Perry (Author)4 months ago

    This story is loosely inspired by an event in my life. A blizzard was headed our way. When I woke up, it was so much snow, I could barely open the screen door. I called my boss to let her know I could come in. She sent someone with a snow plow and a shovel. I had no excuse why not to get to work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.