Fiction logo

Snow Castles

In the eyes of a child

By David E. PerryPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
3
Snow Castles
Photo by Omri D. Cohen on Unsplash

I can’t stand when snow touches my skin. It sends shivers throughout my body and soul. Things were so much different when I was a kid. Back in the 1980s, snow was the most amazing thing in the whole world. Back then I would enjoy lying in the snow. Snow angles were a favorite pastime.

There was that one time when the kids next door challenged us to a snow castle-building contest. More snow had fallen than I’ve ever seen in my entire life. In reality, my “entire life” was only 8 or 9 years at the time. My brothers, Spike and Timmy, started to build individual snow castles. But it was determined that we could do a lot better if we joined forces. The kids next door did the same. Our snow castle kept getting bigger and bigger. Soon, it was big enough for all 3 of us to fit inside it. All the time, we had no idea what they were building.

I was chosen as the spy. I was amazed at what they built. They had built an igloo. It was big enough for 1 or 2 people to get inside. “We have to do better”, I said. So, I started to add a 2nd story to our snow castle. I built stairs to help us get into it. I was the guinea pig. I climbed up, sat down and the entire thing collapsed. The 3 of us were buried in snow. That was fun.

HumorShort StoryMicrofictionfamilyAdventure
3

About the Creator

David E. Perry

Writing gives me the power to create my own worlds. I'm in control of the universe of my design. My word is law. Would you like to know the first I ever wrote? Read Sandy:

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • David E. Perry (Author)4 months ago

    This story is mostly true. I changed a few details so that I could put it in fiction and enter the challenge. The snow castle and the igloo were not made on the same day. Therefore, there was no challenge. Also, only one kid next door built the igloo and it was big enough for 4 kids to get inside.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.