Fiction logo

L'amour

Scene One

By Antoni NimaPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
Like
L'amour
Photo by Dhaya Eddine Bentaleb on Unsplash

SCENE ONE.

Lana and Aaron in a nice hotel room, have been together in bed for who knows how long. She is coming back to join him after briefly going to the restroom. They are in mid-conversation.

(**Lana is French-American and therefore speaks without an accent in both languages. Aaron is learning French and speaks it with a strong American accent)

LANA : Sans l’ambiguitè? C’est ça? Donc t’es qui mon amour?

AARON: Moi? Bon, je suis juste un fraction de ton reflection madame.

LANA: Ah, c’est ça?

AARON: Oui. 100 %.

LANA : What time is it now?

AARON: The time? Right now.

LANA: Yes, what time is it?

AARON: The time is now.

LANA:

(playfully rolls her eyes)

Mon Dieu. And what time might that be?

AARON : Right now!

LANA: Ok, I’ll play. What’s so "right" about it?

AARON : That it is right...

LANA : Right now.

AARON : Yes, I’ve never been involved in any other time.

LANA :

(sarcastically)

Ahh.. I see. So your whole life is happening now.

AARON : To simplify? I’d say so.

LANA: So you didn’t exist when we met?

AARON: No, I very much did.

LANA : Then when was that? Because it feels like to me I’ve known you for more than a few months.

AARON : You’re right. You have.

LANA:

(grabbing him around the neck)

So what fucking time is it!

AARON : It’s still right now!

LANA : And what about then?

AARON : Then what? Then is, and also was, right now.

LANA : You’re incorrigible.

AARON: And you are so fluid?

LANA: So, what’s the difference then?

AARON: Between?

LANA: Then and now?

AARON: Nothing!

LANA : Nothing?

AARON : Nope.

LANA : Then why are we so comfortable together? I don’t recall being so at ease on our first encounter?

AARON: No, you were a bit stuffy then.

LANA: Hah! Then! And now I’m not! So see, a different time you goon!

AARON: Well, you’re still being a bit stuffy ma cherie.

LANA: Hey!

(laughing)

I’ll kill you.

AARON: Well, you are who you are.

LANA: I suppose you’re going to tell me now too that people never change either.

AARON: Not at all. People change, everything changes, it’s literally the only thing we can bank on. And the only thing that differentiates "before" and "now". But you, my dear, well you...

LANA: So because I have the same personality traits, the time is “always now”.

AARON : No, the time is now because the time is now.

LANA: Ahh! And when the dinosaurs were around?

AARON: It was now also then.

LANA : Theoretically, but now changed and became then!

AARON : And it was still now, who just decided to change his name to then.

LANA: You’re infuriating!

(He pretends to be a dinosaur and pins her down.)

AARON : I am who I am.

LANA: You never change.

(she kisses him)

AARON: No, I change constantly.

LANA : You. Are. Infuriating.

AARON : You. Are. Adorable.

LANA : You. Drive. Me. Crazy.

AARON : Oh? How so? Like this...

(Still pinned down, he uses his tongue, softly tickling her neck, her ear.)

LANA: I’m going to bite you.

AARON: Please do.

LANA: I just wanted you to tell me the time you monster!

AARON: Well, why didn’t you just look for yourself?

(Pushed him off of her)

LANA: You took my phone away and told me to be more present! “To live in the now!”

AARON : So why aren’t you doing that?

LANA: Ahh, you!

(Jumps on top of him and pretends to choke him.

They kiss and wrestle more.)

AARON: That’s because you are who you are. But at least I can say, I love you now, I loved you then, and I will therefore love you forever.

LANA:

(mockingly)

Forever is only now.

AARON: And my God, I am so grateful for that!

LANA:

(mockingly)

“I’m so thankful”...

AARON : Why do you always mock me when I am being sweet?

LANA : You’re just being difficult, and you mistake that for sweet.

(kisses him)

AARON: Maybe being sweet with you can be rather difficult.

LANA:

(hits him)

I am always sweet, while you’re always pretending to be Confucius.

AARON : And you don’t like it?

LANA: I love it.

AARON : I love you.

(rolls her over on top of her)

So let’s be doing this...

(kisses her.)

Right...

(kiss)

Now.

(Kiss.

They make love.)

HumorShort StoryScriptLoveExcerpt
Like

About the Creator

Antoni Nima

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.