Fiction logo

Klimt's Nightmare

I've always felt sure Klimt was *not* thinking about this when he painted The Kiss!

By Sandra Tena ColePublished 2 years ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
1
Klimt's Nightmare
Photo by Mathilde Langevin on Unsplash

We went to see The Doors in concert. Because there weren’t enough people, so not enough tickets were bought, we had to go without the magic of watching The Doors.

Disappointed, we went to get some tacos. My boss’ friend, Joshua, noticed me; I noticed him, too. After dinner, we went to the bar where he worked, it was all friendly and laid-back. My boss and his wife decided to go, but Joshua, along with his brother, my friend Clara and I wanted to carry on partying.

So now, without the judicious stare of my boss, Joshua kissed me.

In the beginning it felt like it could work. He hugged me, he said that he wanted to know me better, that he liked me a lot, that I was one of what he called “the worthy ones”. He asked me to the cinema and back to the bar for the next evening. It seemed like we were a perfect match.

But the night was not yet over for me. We all went over to Clara’s house, and things took a turn. He started kissing me disproportionately. I say disproportionately because he seemed to want to make my entire face fit into his mouth. I couldn’t understand it; I wasn’t sure whether he wanted to kiss me or eat me. At a certain moment, I was sure that I could feel his upper jaw on my left cheekbone and his lower jaw under my chin. And teeth, teeth everywhere. Months later I saw a demon do exactly that in a movie.

I took Clara aside to decide what I should do. If I wanted, I could take him to the guest room. No, Clara, I just met him, how can you suggest that?

But he looks so interested.

Well, he might be, but he doesn’t kiss too well.

Oh, darling, you can fix those things, it’s only a matter of teaching him.

When I got back to Joshua, he had the sofa all ready for us. He wanted me to climb on top of him. I refused. He continued to kiss me anyway. His tongue in my mouth and on my cheeks and in my ears, and on my neck and on my nose and on my chin and on my forehead; he only missed my hair. And his teeth… I had never been so aware of another person’s teeth. I had no idea how to avoid him.

The night was finally over. I’ll see you tomorrow at 5 at the cinema.

Yeah, yeah, see you tomorrow, bye.

People often ask me why I still gave him a chance. Maybe because he was my boss’ friend? Maybe because I was desperate for a man? Maybe because I haven’t lost faith in humanity? Or maybe it was just that I was bored? Maybe we will never know the answer.

The next day at five o’clock everything changed. Joshua was being more than indifferent to me; he barely kissed me and we got into the movie, during which he didn’t say one word. As soon as we came out of the movie, he left in a rush, saying that he had to be at the bar, but that he’d see me there that night.

I of course, had told my friends about the bar, and I’m so glad I did, because that night Joshua was even more indifferent to me than at the cinema.

After that, my phone never rang showing me his number.

* * * *

Clara and I were waiting for our lunch in front of the Medical Sciences building at the university, when he walked up to us. I was taken by surprise at how openly he said hello to us.

I just stared at him.

What, you don’t remember me? It’s Joshua, Michael’s friend. We met a few months ago, at the concert that The Doors didn’t give because there weren’t enough ticket sales. We even went to the movies later.

I was still just staring at him, not knowing what to say. The image of a whale shark crossed my mind, and a single phrase left my mouth: Well, no, sorry… I don’t remember you.

He stared at me, flabbergasted. That’s horrid of you, I hope you know?

Clara and I looked at each other as soon as he left, smiling knowingly. Oh, Clara, what if I told you that I haven’t been able to get rid of the sensation of his mouth over these past four months: every time I bite into anything I get a weird feeling, almost like I’m embarrassed for him.

The Kiss, by Gustav Klimt, which was a prompt for this story

Thank you for reading my fiction piece. If you'd like to read more, head over to my profile to read all kinds of pieces I've written on various subjects, or click below for just my fiction. You can also follow the link to buy my short story collection "Tales from the Rooftop", or my novel "Wideawake".

A heart, a tip, a comment or your insights would also be much appreciated, if you feel so inclined. Also, please feel free to share my story with anyone who you think might enjoy it.

Sandra's fiction pieces on Vocal

Buy Tales from the Rooftop or Wideawake here

Humor
1

About the Creator

Sandra Tena Cole

Actress, Model, Writer

Co-producer at His & Hers Theatre Company

Esoteric Practitioner

Idealist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.