Fiction logo

Killers

by kings

By kingsPublished 3 years ago 12 min read
1
image by pixabay

We all knew of the girl who drowned; she sank like a stone, they said; she was showing off that night, they said; the guys all said; the water is deeper than it appears; and we're not the worst swimmers, but it's dark; we don't swim at night; no, we don't swim at night with guys; we all knew of the girl who drowned; she sank like a stone, they said; she was showing off that night, they

We meet guys at the boathouse tonight; they're here for the end of the summer; they're polished; but we're polished; we stare out across the water; we murmur nothing and pretend it's more; so the guys look over or don't look over; either way, it means the same thing;

They'll be done with us at some point; we'll have squandered their time, they'll say; so they'll threaten us; they'll scare us. So murder us, we'll shout while laughing too loudly, like fuck these men; who the fuck are these folks;

We discover this summer that we belong to a demographic: we're girls who attend prestigious schools; girls who excel in their subjects; girls who spend the entire summer at the beach and become the beach's stars;

So, this summer, we find out we've been divided into two groups; I realize that we are divided into more than two groups; I wouldn't call us shattered. We aren't strewn around your floor in a jumble; I'd describe it as shattered; I'd describe it as cracked.

the ride to the shore this summer was long, and no one talked; I lay across the back seat watching clouds; I slept and dreamed my parents were singing loudly in the front; but when I woke, my mother was sleeping, her head drooped to her chest; my father was staring straight ahead; the radio was playing the song from my dream; it wasn’t the song I would have played, were I in charge; that song would have been good and loud; the windows would have been all the way down; my parents wouldn’t have been there;

My father sits at the table with me in the mornings; he's mad at me, he says; I've been coming home too late, he says; I've been coming home too drunk; but I can barely hear him; something is wrong with him; I can't say what it is; so I'll say there's something like a ghost; something at the table, sitting next to my father, sitting on top of my father; but I can barely hear him;

We're the shore's stars this summer; we open our throats to drink; we drink whatever is poured into our cups; we don't mind if things get mixed up; like brown drinks mixed with clear; like clear drinks mixed with wine; we don't mind whose shirt we're wearing; whose car we're in; whose boat; we're the girls, this summer, everyone wants; and we dance on the guys; we dance on the chairs; we use our tongues to tie cherry stems into knots; we open our mouths to show you the nicely knotted stems;

The girl who drowned was a local girl; we knew her tan lines when she wore a dress; we knew what they said about her; she was a knockout, they said; the guys all said; even my father said she was a knockout; but she wasn't that bright, my father said; so there was no one to blame for her drowning but her;

But I think about that night a lot; I think about that girl a lot; I keep the word killers under my lips.

Some nights, I lie down and close my eyes; I can feel their weight above me; I can feel like a girl in a good way; and then I can feel like a girl in a bad way; I send my brain to other thoughts, while my body lies there, pretending; I think about light and the speed of light; I think about black holes; and how there is no right-side up or upside down in outer space; there is no sound on the moon;

It was something to do with its size, or its depth; by depth, I only mean physical; though one could make a case for another kind, a holy kind; my father was silent; my mother slept through it; but I was impressed, I now admit; it was something to do with its size, or its depth; my father was silent; my mother slept through it; but I was impressed, I now admit; it was something to do with its size, or its depth; it was something to do with its size.

they’re polished, these guys, so we followed them, like dogs, to the dock; now we dangle our legs off the edge; they throw their cigarettes into the water; they throw crushed cans, and I think some things; like how we’re not the kind to throw shit in; but we’re not the kind to say, Don’t throw that shit; when the cans hit the water, the guys say, What; we say, What, and look to the other side; the other side is the poor side; it’s a strip of dirty beach; it’s weathered motels tilted into a road; it’s beaten up houses and couches on the lawns; it’s the jetty the locals hang out on; we’re not supposed to go to that side; but we’re not supposed to do so many things; our demographic is confusing; all the expectations, all their opposites;

there are mountains on the moon tall as the ones on earth; but they’re terrible, treeless; gray and dust; thinking of them, I can scare myself; I can see myself floating there;

at the ends of nights, we’re under a tree or in a boat or in a bed and taken home; our makeup isn’t what it was; our clothes are twisted; our shoes are somewhere; there are girls who walk us to find our shoes; these are younger girls who want to be us; they’re our shadows and we hate them;

mornings, my father slams his fork to the table; he pounds the table so that everything shakes; he tries his best to stare me down; but I’ve perfected a better stare; I practice it, nights, on the younger girls; I can make my eyes go completely flat; it’s terrifying how I look;

the guys have ways to make us give them what they want; they look directly at our mouths; they touch our hair and say it feels so soft; You smell like something I want to eat, they say; You smell like strawberries, they say; they ask us things to make us feel smart; they say, What would you do for a thousand dollars; they say, Would you steal a boat; they say, Would you kill someone; they say, Would you sleep with us; their mouths are at our ears; we’re like a thousand dollars; we try not to laugh; they’re becoming disappointing; at the boathouse, we wanted to be with these guys; now, with these guys, we want to be at the boathouse; this is a grass-is-greener situation; it has to do with perspective; like how the water from afar is one thing; the water up close is another; like how a body from afar is something; and a body from inside that body is something else;

the younger girls would sense the potential danger; they would run back to their houses before things got too wild; their parents would wake and make them tea; but my parents are sleeping their deep drugged sleep; my parents are sleeping each at his or her edge of the bed;

Love is still viewed as arrows through hearts by the younger ladies. Please, girls, I know what love is; it's just tiny motors whirling in one's saddest, darkest regions.

We frequently drink what's left in cans; we smoke what's left on the ground; we don't give a damn if we appear to be trash; If our shirts and shorts come off, we'll be in trouble. When we dance like way, it's about more than just dancing; it's about expressing ourselves. When we use our tongues to tie cherry stems into knots; when we're found sobbing in a boat and can't explain why; when we're found in a boat and can't explain why; when we're found in a boat and can't explain why; when we're found in a boat

We say, "For a million dollars, we'd sleep with you." But not for a thousand, we say; I realize how fucked up we sound; like what are we, total whores; then it's one thing to another fast; we only want the one thing; we'll let them kiss us; we'll let them go up our shirts; but that's not good enough for them; because it hurts, they say; it can go right to their brains; it can fuck fuck fuck fuck fuck fuck

so they must have forgotten who we are; that we’re the tops of our classes; that we know how the body works; and the moment they know this was all a waste; and the moment we know they know; they make a sound to represent agony; the sound reminds me of an animal from a show I saw as a child; they say, What the fuck is your problem; where do we start;

we know the universe is still expanding; we know we’re shooting farther and farther out into what;

we know the sun will, at some point, collapse; that the earth will be burned to dust;

I tried, once, to explain these things in detail to my parents; my mother said, What’s she talking about; my father: Hell if I know;

We can't afford to let these guys off the hook; As we walk, I say, "Just murder me." They say they're going to throw us in; we're screaming, Put us down; I'm screaming, Fucking killers; and it's all our fault for being such stars; for being such whores; and for a second, I think love; but now we're whipping through the air like trash; we're over their shoulders and spinning; they say they're going to throw us in; we're screaming, Put us down; they say they're going to throw us in;

My father claims she wasn't brilliant; and she wasn't, if you think of bright as top of your class; but if you think of bright as light, she was; one night, we were on the pier, and there she was, carrying a shoe in each hand; I could see her remembering how wild the boys were on the jetty; I could see her through the guys' eyes, my father's eyes; that night I became her shadow, and she had no idea;

at the table, I stare my father down; I’m terrifying with my stare; it’s like I’m stuck in some kind of trance; then everything is fractured; and it’s a hundred forks; a hundred fathers; a hundred mothers saying, What’s her problem; a hundred fathers saying, Go to hell;

we’re spinning, and all I can think is water; I think of how cold it’ll be; I think of how hard we’ll hit; I think of how far it is to the bottom; and what I would miss above; not my mother and father’s fucked up shit; not the younger girls who wish so bad they were us; not these beautiful, agonized guys;

I would miss the feeling of everyone looking at us; of everyone laughing at us; the feeling, after, of sleeping it off;

I would miss the next-day feeling of starting again; of barefoot, getting something to eat;

and don’t think we’re just teases; I also think about getting them off; I think about putting my hand on them; I think about putting my mouth on them; I think about lying under them; I don’t even need to be good at it; I don’t even need to look;

the ride back to the city will take me farther and farther from what I am; I’ll lie across the back seat thinking, God;

were I in charge, the summer would go backward; we would start out split and end up not;

were I in charge, I would lie alone on the dock and feel the tiny motors whir while staring out at stars;

there’s a moment, spinning, when spinning feels like being still; and I remember how I spun on the lawn, summers, when I was younger; I remember the how hard the earth pulled me down; how when I finally stood, the grass stayed flat in the shape of me; and the grass would rise as I walked away; and I would grow too old for this game;

so do they throw us in; do we slowly sink; does light stop; does sound change; is it suddenly cold; do we feel the fish; the plants and trash; the sharp edge of a crushed can;

does the girl who drowned swim back to us; is she a knockout still; do we love her still; do we love her enough to stay;

or do we push to the top; do we burst face first; are we a miracle; or the opposite; predictable; do we lie under them on the dock;

because there’s no sound on the moon, I often think about screaming on the moon; I think about what it would be to open my mouth and push out a scream I can feel but not hear;

because there’s no right-side up or upside down in outer space, I often, when looking at the sky, feel I’m dangling above it;

what I mean is, girls, there is no love the way you think of love;

what I mean is, girls, I’m sorry;

in the show I saw when I was a child, an animal was running on dirt; I was supposed to be watching something else; I wasn’t supposed to be watching; I was supposed to be doing my homework; there were things to learn; the beginnings and ends of worlds to understand;

but someone had turned on this show; and I couldn’t look away; a guy’s voice was saying things; his voice was getting louder; there was a giant orange sun; a leafless tree; the animal running fast on the dirt; the animal running faster; this animal on that animal;

Mystery
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.