Fiction logo

Just a Minute

It felt longer

By Sarah DanaherPublished 15 days ago 3 min read
6
Just a Minute
Photo by Skyler Gerald on Unsplash

My head lay against the headrest in all anticipation.  The ride was about to start.   The excitement of thrill ran through my veins.  I have waited all summer to be here. The seat was, as usual, stiff.  I place my head back from the long spiel from the employees, all from warnings to how one should sit on the ride. It feels like they take ten years just to finish all the safety warnings.  All the warnings about the stuff left in the bin may go missing.  All for the name of covering their liabilities if something happens.  I followed, putting my head against the rest. It was highly stressful, and yet others did not do it all.  I take a deep breath as the lights count down the blast.  The ride was famous, and the line was long.  It was a scorching day, but I did enjoy the wait for such a ride. Its speed was faster than every other coaster I have ridden.  I wished to get closer to the front, but that line would have taken forever.  It was at least running, considering it was supposed to rain today, but the sky has stayed clear.  I just want to sit back and relax as my body is pushed uphill for over one hundred feet.  The time is coming closer as the red light appears.  All the waiting has come to this a minute, so late, and it will all be over.  

My breath was held as the green light blinked.  I was off for the second one.  My lungs could not work at the speed of thirty miles just then.  My head pinned to the back could not move either.  The second, I could not breathe.  It was now going sixty miles, and still, my breath was taken.   The third second was the same except for going ninety miles, but no movement could be made at that speed.  The fourth second left my lungs breathless, going one hundred and twenty miles.   In the fifth second, I could finally breathe, heading uphill over one hundred feet in the air.

Now I understand why I had to put my head back.  The speed was so fast my stomach was even confused.  The hill was tall, but the launch was incredible.  The view was fantastic, with the clouds so perfect in the sky.  The breeze was so much more effective from the day's blistering heat. The speed was just getting us near the top, and then we stopped.  The whole park could be seen from here, and looking down at the track could not be seen. It was a wonder how to survive not breathing and only hiding the track. The cars lurched forward as so many screams could be heard. The scary part had begun, and the rest was relatively easy, but there was the feeling that I could die.  As we went down, the track was there, and the fresh breath was great.  The ground was becoming closer. The speed was picking up as gravity helped with this one.  My mind was blown as I realized it had only been a minute.  The ride finally stopped, and my body was feeling so well.  

I could not believe that all that emotion was in such a short time.  My stomach did not know how to react.   Going up was stressful, but the fear of falling was worse. How could so many things that felt like forever but only be a little time?  It was such a great time, and I might ride it again.

Short StoryStream of Consciousness
6

About the Creator

Sarah Danaher

I enjoy writing for fun. I like to write for several genres including fantasy, poetry, and dystopian, but I am open to trying other genres too. It has been a source of stress relief from my busy life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Rosie𐙚10 days ago

    Got an adrenaline rush reading this!

  • Kodah11 days ago

    I'm a massive fan of rollercoasters!! Love your story, Sarah! 💌

  • I have only been on one once, wasn't sure if I liked it or disliked it. But I never did it again

  • Oh wow, this was such an adrenaline rush! Loved your story!

  • I am not a fan of roller coaster rides but enjoyed your story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.