Fiction logo

June's Journey Full Story

Volume 1: Chapter 1

By Kelly RileyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

If you want to read the entire story from the app June's Journey, created and written by Wooga, without having to scroll through all each chapter to read the content, here are all of the clues and the conversations that go with each clue for chapter 1. More chapters will be posted soon.

Chapter 1: Arrival in New York

I didn't know what to expect when I arrived in New York. I hadn't seen my niece Virginia in years. I certainly never imagined that I would be trying to solve my sister's murder.

The family estate. Where Clare and Harry lived with their daughter, Virginia.

June: It's quiet. I wonder where everyone is.

Clue #1

June: Mrs. Talbot?

Mrs. Talbot was more than a housekeeper. She'd practically raised Clare and I.

Mrs. Talbot: June. Welcome back. I'm so glad you're here. Help me set up these garden chairs. We have so much to discuss.

June: Virginia?

Virginia: Aunt June! I'm so glad you're here.

June: Oh, darling, me too. It's been entirely too long. I'm so, so sorry.

My eyes were drawn to two familiar faces--faces I hadn't expected to see.

Clue #2

June: Is this new? I don't recall seeing this painting before.

Virginia: Yes, the artist just finished it a few weeks ago. Aunt June, I miss them so much.

June: I know, Virginia. So do I.

Virginia: Aunt June? Can I ask you something?

June: Of course. I know this is still very painful, but it will get better.

Virginia: It's not that. I mean, I do miss them. But that's not what I wanted to ask. I...I found this after the police left.

Clue #3

June: This is a phot of...of the murder. Virginia, you shouldn't have this.

Virginia: I know, but I just can't believe that my father killed my mother. There must be something in this photo that proves he's innocent. Please, just look at it.

June: Virginia...yes, I'll look. But I can't promise we'll find anything.

I had been a nurse during the Great War. I was familiar with death. But nothing can truly prepare you for seeing your loved ones dead.

June: Virginia, I'm so sorry you had to see this.

Virginia: The police said my mother and father were drinking alone. They said they argued and then my father shot her and then himself. But look.

Clue #4

June: There are three whiskey glasses instead of two.

Virginia: And my father's crystal carafe. It's missing.

June: You think someone else was there that night Clare and Harry died! Did you tell anyone about your suspicions? The police? Mrs. Talbot?

Virginia: The police wouldn't listen to me. Of course I'd want to defend my parents, they said. The whiskey glasses aren't the only things out of place. Look at the floor.

Clue #5

June: There's a muddy footprint on the floor. A man's shoe, but Harry's shoes are clean. What about the gardener? Was Mr. Talbot around?

Virginia: Mr. and Mrs. Talbot had the day off. They went into the city.

June: Which means if someone came in through the garden, no one would have seen them. I think we need to have a look at the garden.

Virginia: The garden is walled. How would anyone get in?

June: This is a very old estate. There are lots of ways in and out. Like this old gate. Clare and I used to sneak out through it when we were your age.

Clue #6

June: The lock's been forced. Recently. Everything else has ivy growing over it.

Virginia: I can't believe Mother used to sneak out this way. She was always so...proper.

June: She was seeing your father on the sly. Love makes people behave in unusual ways.

Virginia: So someone broke into the estate...but who? And why would they kill my parents?

June: I don't know yet. We should keep looking.

I felt uneasy. There was clearly more to Harry and Clare's deaths than police believed. But my thoughts were interrupted by the sound of cracking glass.

June: What was that?

Virginia: I stepped on something...

Clue #7

June: A crystal carafe. Smells of whiskey. Are you all right?

Virginia: I'm fine. It was already broken. I just kicked it.

June: You said a crystal carafe was missing from the crime scene photo...

Virginia: Yes. This proves it, doesn't it? Someone else was there the night they died?

June: Yes, and it seems they fled this way. We need to see what's beyond this gate.

Virginia: I don't understand. Why didn't the police notice these things? How could they think my father would kill my mother?

June: I imagine that when you see so many murders, it's easy to think the worst of people. But we knew Clare and Harry, so we can see things differently.

Clue #8

June: A handkerchief. And there's blood on it.

Virginia: It's not my father's. His were embroidered with his initials. A gift from Mother.

June: The killer's, then. We're on the right trail. They must have been panicking though. They were sloppy, and left several clues. Strange that the killer would have come this way. I don't see any tire tracks or other evidence of a getaway car.

Virginia: What about the gatehouse at the end of the lane? No one uses it.

Clue #9

June: There's a light on.

Virginia: What does that mean? Do you think the killer's still inside?

June: I don't know. But you should stay back, just in case.

Virginia: No. If the person who killed my parents is there, I want to confront them myself.

June: Fine, but if I say the word, run back to the house as fast as you can.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.