Fiction logo

It’s Going To Be May

Hell

By TwylaPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
It’s Going To Be May
Photo by David Garry on Unsplash

HELL

———

"May!" Lucifer's voice boomed through hell, and shook the foundations of our world.

I nearly jumped out of my skin, as I heard Lucy's voice roar my name. I knew I was in trouble. He had given me an assignment.

Torture Mr. Jenkins.

Mr. Jenkins had sold his soul to Lucifer for riches and women while on Earth, but his time had ended. He had joined us in hell. His own personal hell we created for him was set out to be homeless and living in a cardboard box. Were no women wanted him, and he would starve to death, and then repeat.

I invaded Mr. Jenkins's hell and had drawn on his cardboard box and made cut-out windows. I even drew pictures of flowers. I couldn't help it. The box needed an upgrade.

But, that wasn't my assignment. I made his hell more pleasurable when I was supposed to make it worse.

This event I pulled isn't the first time I disappointed Lucy.

I have played tea with older ladies, played dress-up with the kids, and have done so much more.

I'm a demon who with a heart. Who would have thought that would happen?

I walked into the Dark Lords court, black and white marble floor with black pillars that stretch to the bottom of Earth. A stage with exactly five steps up to the Dark Lords thorn. The back of it was tall with two black devil horns sticking out both sides, an armrest on both sides, and it had a small footstool.

I made my way to the bottom of the steps and bowed down to my Lucy. I looked at him. Such a wicked creature, but so gorgeous. Black slick back hair, ocean blue eyes, five o'clock shadow, and a pair of full lips. He is tall, dark, and handsome, even in his devil form.

"You called me Lucy," I said with a grin pulling at the corners of my mouth.

He looked down at me, and rose to his feet. I could feel the tension in the air.

"May, you are supposed to be a good little demon and torture the souls given to us, but yet again, you have failed me," He growled at me, and stalked closer.

I pouted, "I don't want to torture people, anymore Lucifer."

He shook his head, reached up, grasped my jaw, and pulled me onto my feet.

"You do as I say. I am the Dark Lord. I am your Master." He bellowed, and made the walls shake.

I laid my hand on his chest, pushed myself back out of his grasp.

I looked down at my feet, "I want more."

I turned my back on him and left the court.

Stupid, Dark Lord and his boring rules. I wanted a soul. My own soul. I wanted to go to the land of the living and be free. Why couldn't I have my own life?

I wanted to be good.

I went in the Dark Lords library later that week to see if I could steal a soul. Lucy stole souls, so why couldn't I? I'm sure they are kept somewhere.

In the library, I ran across a book called Obtaining Souls. I pulled it off the shelf, it was covered in dust. I brushed it off, the black book was etched with Old English.

It was useless, though; it was about how people summoned Lucifer and how he was able to strike a deal and have their souls. Most of these people were willing to give them away. He wasn't stealing them.

"May?" A concerned voice came from behind me. I slowly turned around and seen Lucy staring at me. I had never heard his voice in such a tone.

I started to fidget with my fingers, unsure of what to do with myself.

"Yes, Lucy?"

He walked up to me, embraced me in a hug.

"What's going on?"

I pushed back in shock. What's going on with Lucy? He seemed to care; the King of damned souls cared about me. A demon who disappointed him time and time again.

"I want a soul Lucy, and I want to know what it feels like to live in another world. I dream about Earth," I sighed. I probably sounded pathetic to him.

He put a hand on his face and sighed, "Oh, May, you're a demon. You can't get a soul because you were never human. I'm sorry, May, but you can't go to Earth. You are of the dark shadows. People would know, as you don't take human form."

I stepped back, looked down at myself. How is it? I never noticed I'm not of human form. I'm dark shadows...

I placed my head in my hands and cried.

"Come here, May," Lucifer grabbed my hands and pulled me into another embrace. He stroked my hair and comforted me.

After a few minutes, I looked up, and the scene was different.

I was standing in a city with buildings and people. Cars were driving by, and I could smell hot dogs, pizza, and more. There were animals on leashes. Conversations were going on all around us.

I started to laugh. I looked up at Lucy, "What is this place?"

"Just because we live in hell, May doesn't mean you can't have your own personal slice of Earth. I'll create anything for you." He smiled. Lucifer lifted my chin. I gasped as I saw a smile playing on the devils face. He leaned down and stole a kiss on my lips.

As a demon with no soul, I never felt more alive.

Short StoryFantasy
Like

About the Creator

Twyla

Creative Writer | Currently writing my debut novel | Single mom of one handsome son | Full-time employee | Full-time college student | Love writing horror and fantasy | I write for myself and share with you guys! Hope you enjoy it. 🖤

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.