Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

It's a Hell of a Thing

flash fiction

By Randy BakerPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 2 min read
It's a Hell of a Thing
Photo by Mike Kenneally on Unsplash

I killed a man with my bare hands. That’s not something I tell too many people and I’m not completely sure why I’m telling you now. There’s something in your eyes, I guess. It’s not that you look so much like someone I can trust. No, I don’t think that’s exactly it. You just strike me as the kind of person who wouldn’t care.

Understand, I don’t mean that in a bad way. I don’t think you’re indifferent to such things. I imagine you’re a bit taken aback by it. You’re a sane, reasonable human being, best I can tell. Not the sort of sociopath that reacts no differently to being told I strangled a man to death than you would if I told you I take creamer in my coffee. Of course, that’s not the best analogy. I don’t actually take creamer in my coffee. Black. That’s how I drink it. I did strangle that guy, though. That part’s true.

Saying you wouldn’t care isn’t right. I didn’t word that well. What I’m trying to say is that you don’t seem like the sort of person who would just rush to judgment. Like I can sit here and tell you that I killed a man with my bare hands and, sure, you’d be shocked by it, but you wouldn’t flip out, or make some hasty judgment. You’re not going to panic and assume that I’d kill you. Would you? No, of course not. You wouldn’t. I shouldn’t have asked that.

Since I brought it up, though, I want to be clear that I have no plans to kill you. I mean, I wouldn’t do that. You’re safe with me, is all I’m saying. Not that I had any plans to kill anyone that night. Not originally, anyway. By the time I did it, yeah. It wasn’t an accident. What I mean to say is that I didn’t set out to kill anybody. I wish it wouldn’t have come to that, really, but when it came down to it, I felt it had to be done. I suppose that’s how everybody feels when it happens. Otherwise, there wouldn’t be nearly as much killing going on. Don’t you think?

Am I sorry I did it? That’s what you want to know, isn’t it? Most people go straight to asking why, but that’s not really the question they want to ask. What they want to know is if I’m sorry I did it. Remorse. You know. That’s the burning question, but they don’t want to ask it. What if I said no? Well, that’d sure put them on edge, wouldn’t it? If I wasn’t sorry, then I’m liable to just pick up this coffee mug and bash you in the head. Isn’t that the way people think?

I am sorry. Every day. It’s a hell of a thing to kill a man.

MicrofictionShort Story

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Paul Stewart14 days ago

    Ohhh...loved this Randy, sir! That's perhaps a reflection on my taste for darker shades in fiction lol. Nevertheless...love how this felt almost interactive...the way you wrote it was like the narrator/other person was talking to me, confessing to me. I love the assuredness of his character and towards the end I did wonder if he was going to be remorseless...but it gives the character greater grounding and realism by him feeling remorse...Just stirring stuff...love the air of tension...even though all he was doing was talking and drinking coffee...very clever. Thank you for sharing this as part of my challenge! Loved it!

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    This is wild. As the reader, I feel like your character is talking directly to me, and I wouldn't trust him as far as I could throw him. Really well done.

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Yeah... I think we can put this one right up there in the disturbing category. haha... It's probably why I enjoyed it.

Randy BakerWritten by Randy Baker

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.