Fiction logo

Intolerant

For Heather's Unscramble Challenge

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 20 days ago 1 min read
13
Intolerant
Photo by karl muscat on Unsplash

Earsplitting - main word, 32 unscrambled words used

 

I hear the ice cream truck as its tires round the corner. A part of me fights the urge to sing along as my ears ring with the familiar song. It pings as it drives on, just before the excited screams of other kids cause me pain.

Each one is eager for a great treat, something my family no longer eats. I look down the list and watch the parade: a banana split, cones by the pair, anything spare change can afford. I start to drool as spit drips over my lips, while looking at their treats.

Wishing for a taste, but the joy won’t last.

My world starts tilting, and a tearing pain rips through the pits of my gut with a trip to the latrine. Many tears are spilt with the discovery of my intolerance. Ice cream was my favourite, and that’s the real stinger.

Maybe I could be okay with just one little taster?

 

Author’s Note:

This was an entry for Heather Hubler’s Unscramble Challenge.

MicrofictionHumorfamily
13

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler9 days ago

    Fabulous job setting the scene so quickly and really loved the image of the narrator falling over. I felt myself tilt, lol!! And my daughter is lactose intolerant :( Loved this one so much, Donna!!

  • Andrea Corwin 13 days ago

    Great job, I loved this! That last paragraph about world tilting - wow.

  • What a delightful story & excellent entry for this challenge… great job…✅ & so sorry that you & ice cream are no longer best buds!🥺

  • Cathy holmes18 days ago

    We all scream for ice cream! Lactose intolerance wouldn't be fun, though. Well done.

  • I was today years old when I discovered what latrine is hahahahaa. I feel sad for those who are lactose intolerant. They could always eat vegan ice cream though. I'm not sure how different it would taste as I've never tried before but I know that it sure would be more expensive. Or maybe they can have sorbet. Does sorbet contain milk? I don't know 😅😅 I've tried sorbet and didn't like it. I've tried frozen yogurt and didn't like that either. Too sour for me. I like sour but I want my ice cream to be sweet hehehe. So I'll just stick to vanilla ice cream! I loved your story D! And 32 words! That's so freaking amazing!! I was working on a poem for this challenge when suddenly Mr Brain came up with an idea for LC's challenge. Somehow, I finished that first so I decided to publish that. The poem is still unfinished. I doubt that I'll make the deadline but I'll still publish it though. Hehehehe.

  • Kendall Defoe 20 days ago

    I had my first gelato of the season yesterday, and I sympathize! 🍦

  • ema20 days ago

    Great job Donna, I love it!

  • Caroline Craven20 days ago

    So clever. And so many words. This was fab. Ps… controversially…. I don’t actually like ice cream!!

  • Mark Gagnon20 days ago

    No ice cream! Cruel and unusual punishment and I would not survive. This was a real tear-jerker, Donna.😁

  • Dana Crandell20 days ago

    Aw, lactose intolerance is tough! You did a marvelous job with this, H! Love the way you worked some rhymes into the mix.

  • JBaz20 days ago

    Excellent, funny creative and a fun read. This is Not something anyone wishes to experience.

  • Alexander McEvoy20 days ago

    Lol I know many lactose intolerant people who absolutely adore ice cream! Ice cream and cheese, the final boss of all lactose intolerant people haha. One of my best friends is always eating some kind of dairy and I keep telling her she'll regret it, but in her words "some things are worth suffering for!" Really fun story, Donna :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.