Fiction logo

Into the Unknown

Abducted in Space

By Sid Aaron HirjiPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Into the Unknown
Photo by Aldebaran S on Unsplash

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. I know my colleagues could not hear my voice but I know my clone could. I had been caught shoplifting from the local Staples and security was called. I was sent to a reform school and my parents were promised a reformed son after three months. I had not made strides during my time in reform school. No matter how many toilets I cleaned, or floors I mopped I was just a carefree teen. I did not care about wronging others. Little did I know that they were secretly cloning me. Every day we did personality tests and one night I was abducted and measured. That was my last night on Earth.

Now myself and four other boys from the reform school were being sent to Titan-the largest moon of Saturn. Sadly, we were raided. I think it is pretty satirical that months ago I was afraid to come home for fear of what my parents would say for being sent to a reform school. Now I can only think on that matter as whether my parents can tell that their son is really a clone. I look at my colleagues, and dismally think that I have to rely on them to help me escape this situation. Millions of miles from home stuck in the wide sanctuary of space. No food, limited water and no vessel to carry us. If space is so vast I might as well consider myself dead.

I fall asleep sometime while thinking about the awfulness of my demise. When I wake however my space helmet is replaced with a tube. I see I am in a room with machinery. To me it looks like medical equipment. My four colleagues are in the same room, one has a whole plethora of wires connected to him. Life support? I pondered on this thought for a moment. This is what happens to deviant teenage boys? Left to die in a strange place? Then I felt a strong vibration and I could hear, no feel a voice talk to me.

“Are you hungry earthling?” it said. Realizing my own hunger I tried to speak but of course with a tube in my mouth no sound came out. Oddly it heard me and said it would bring me some food and drink. I had read about telepathy and thought that must be how they were communicating. If I wasn’t so scared and over stimulated I would probably be fascinated. A few moments later I saw a tray of food with a large cup of a fizzy orange drink in front of me. A being I couldn’t make out moved my breathing tube from my mouth and put a cannula into my nostrils. It turns out the air was thin and there was still oxygen-just not enough to be comfortable with. My hands were tied I suddenly realized and a machine operated fork brought food to my lips.

I closed my eyes and took a bite. It was the best food I had eaten. True, it had an odd texture but it tasted great and I could feel a surge of energy. I opened my eyes to see the others were eating as well save for the boy with all the wiring. I continued to enjoy all the food and the mango tasting soda. Satiated, I relaxed a bit. Then I noticed what was in the centre of the room.

A large egg like thing lay in the centre. The boy with the wires was connected to it. Now his body was limp and I could see a bar that said forty percent complete. It was then that I realized we were the ones who were supporting this egg like thing. They were using our energy. What would become of me now?

Horror

About the Creator

Sid Aaron Hirji

Canadian born man who finds literature and science equally fascinating. Trauma bleeds through generations, words heal the hidden scars.

youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS3WEyx5XeX-o8xRwG-cMlg

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sid Aaron HirjiWritten by Sid Aaron Hirji

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.