Fiction logo

Into the Heist

The House in the Woods

By Real PoeticPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
10

There’s an old, abandoned house somewhere in these woods. It’s rumored there’s at least 10 million buried under the floorboards. The problem is no one has ever found the house.

The last time I saw my brother, he and his friends were heading into the woods to find this house. No one has seen them since.

He was all I had…

I suppose he left to give us a better life. It’s easier to believe that than believing he abandoned me too.

Well, today’s the day I’m going to search for this house. I need the money. Our house is falling apart, and I keep seeing past due notices. There’s only a matter of time before I’m homeless…

I’ve got nothing to lose. Why not go wandering in the woods alone with bears to break in a house no man has ever found. Sounds like a great idea to me! It’s either them or me.

Before heading out, I notice another floorboard is loose by the door. As I get closer to inspect, I find a letter addressed to me in my brother’s hand. “Grayson, you’re standing inside the house in the story. I rob banks, little bro. Love, Jack.”

Short StoryMicrofiction
10

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write poetry & short stories.

Thanks for stopping by! ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen Kramer Avitabile11 months ago

    Oh that was awesome! I didn’t expect that twist but I loved it! You had a whole story unravel there, that was superbly done.

  • Nobody11 months ago

    This story gave me all the feels.

  • Raghavendra S Rao11 months ago

    Nice story.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    Great story! Unexpected ending!

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    This is great! All the cash in the house all along. Wonderful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.