Fiction logo

In The Dark

It's hard surviving at the end of times...

By Michaela McDonaldPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Reference Picture For The Locket In The Story

April 13th, 2085

The last great battle between the beings of light and the creatures of the dark ended with everything around us destroyed and us struggling to find a way to survive. The capital of all the kingdoms sent out for any survivors to arrive there by the next new moon for secured safety. My father didn’t like the idea of us going so he decided to wait until it was a guaranteed safe haven. The lord of our kingdom sent out scouts a week ago and they should’ve been back by now. I know you are there already since you were there when everything happened and the capital was protected by the angelic beings so I know you’re safe. Write back soon so I know you’re okay! I’m sealing the letter with the locket you gave me so you know who sent it.

I Miss You,

Skylar Wendworth

May 23rd, 2085

Hey, everything is good here in the capital. I am glad you still have the present I gave you before I had to leave. Just promise not to lose it! I’m just joking, but it was nice to hear from you. Let your father know you guys can share my quarters when you get here. The light barrier between the capital and the outside world is what keeps us safe. So you can let your father know that if he does decide to come he just needs to have something to ward off any darklings and you’ll make it here without any problems.

Can’t Wait To See You,

Lucian Sayort

May 25th, 2085

Hey Luke, I’m not sure if you got the last letter I wrote, but My father refused to leave the kingdom because none of the scouts returned to the kingdom. He says that something isn’t right with the offer from the capital because there are too many of us to fit behind the barrier. It looks like I won’t be seeing you anytime soon. I did join the king’s army so I could learn how to fight and defend myself. The king actually personally asked me to join so I could convince other girls to join. I know I’m only 17 but I guess the women and girls look up to me. Hopefully I’ll see you in a few months.

Write Back Soon,

Skylar Wendworth

July 2nd, 2085

It’s been over a month now and I still haven’t heard from you. I’m not sure if you’re not getting these or if I am not getting your replies, but I wanted to let you know that I made a friend. He has been helping me learn different sword techniques since I’m not too good with swords. My guard shift is usually nights at the gate. I wouldn’t suggest visiting at night if you decide to come and visit… even though I don’t think you’d want to leave the capital.

Looking Forward To Seeing You,

Skylar Wendworth

July 14th, 2085

Hey Skylar, I guess the letters aren’t coming and going as they should be. I got both of your last letters at the same time just today. I don’t know why you haven’t gotten the letter I sent you, they think that the mail carrier might’ve been attacked. Hopefully, you get this one, I don’t want you to think I’m not okay. I did read the last two letters though. I always knew you were going to be a great leader, but I don’t like that you’ve been posted at the gate and at night of all times! But I know you’re strong and can definitely handle yourself so just write me back when you can. Oh, and I heard that the capital is working on securing a safe passageway to all the kingdoms so more people can come and we can start to thrive again and rebuild. I can’t wait to have everything back to normal so we can forget about everything that’s happening.

Waiting To Hear From You,

Lucian Sayort

August 25th, 2085

I don’t know what is happening with our letters, but no one here is getting anything from anyone. We haven’t had any mail come to us from anywhere. Everyone is just sending letters hoping for responses. But that’s not why I am writing you. I am writing to tell you that I’ve put together a group of people to go out into the forest to gather stuff we are running low on. There’s to be a group of hunters, gatherers, doctors, and trackers. We will be outside the walls for about 2 or 3 months so I won’t be able to write back if you do send a letter.

Sincerely,

Skylar Wendworth

September 14th, 2085

Skylar I know you might never get this because letters aren’t making it to the outside kingdoms and no one knows why, but I wish you weren’t out there. There are so many things in those woods, even a group of darklings. Please write me immediately when you get back so I know you’re okay. I don’t think you’ll ever get this but hopefully you’re okay.

Looking Out For Your Next Letter,

Lucian Sayort

December 10th, 2085

Skylar I haven’t gotten a letter from you and it’s been about 4 months since you and your group have gone outside the walls. The letters have been going back and forth since the beginning of last month. I know if you don’t get this your father will. I really hope you’re okay and that I get a message from you soon.

Sincerely,

Lucian Sayort

December 14th, 2085

Lucian, I was surprised to receive a letter from you. I know you’re probably not wanting to hear from me, but I wanted to let you know that Skylar is still out in the woods. She is safe but she hasn’t come out herself, she is just sending everyone back and forth and keeping our kingdom thriving. She still has that locket too, but she left it here at the house so it didn’t get lost out in the woods. I guess she promised to never lose it so she took it off for the first time since you gave it to her and it’s in an envelope in her drawer. I’ll try and send word to her that you’ve responded. Feel free to send a letter any time.

Sincerely,

Andrew Wendworth

December 16th, 2085

Father, I got your message and you can relax. You don’t need to worry about me. I am quite safe out here. I have sent him a letter of his own along with this one to you. Please don’t worry about me, but I was wondering if there was anything else you need behind the walls?

Love you,

Skylar Wendworth

December 16th, 2085

Lucian, I am fine and I didn’t know the mail system was back up and running. I won’t be sending regular messages as I’m very busy with running everything out here. Hope you stay safe in the capital.

Sincerely,

Skylar Wendworth

December 20th, 2085

Skylar, I’ll be back on the full moon on the 30th. Please don’t disappoint my father. You know my dad has a short temper and neither of us want to see it at all. I did get your mail system up and running again, but you won’t believe that it was the knights of the capital stopping the going out mail and they were paying the mail carriers. I had my friend deliver this personally in case they were checking mail instead now. Send anything back to me through one of the people we know we can trust.

Sincerely,

Callen Enkios

December 29th, 2085

Your father came back early and I wasn’t finished. My father hadn’t sent it to me yet. I sent this message with Raye because I know she’s your fastest warrior. I’ll be waiting for you at your father’s. Be quick please, and bring this letter with you to my father’s house and show it to him. He’ll know what envelope I’m talking about I hope.

Wishing You A Speedy Arrival,

Skylar Wendworth

December 29th, 2085

You know why I am sending you a letter. Get here now before she turns. And bring the locket.

From,

Your Father

December 29th, 2085

Dear Diary,

Callen is on his way but his father just arrived. This entry will be short but necessary. I didn’t get my locket yet. My father hasn’t been responding to my messages. I know he is okay but I don’t know where my messages went. I am waiting for his father to come into my home here in the woods to force me with him. I really hope Callen gets here in time.

December 30th, 2085

Dear Diary,

I don’t know what Callen’s father did to me. My veins are burning and everything is too bright. He brought me to a run down castle in the middle of the forest and locked me in one of the bedrooms. He also let me keep my diary which I definitely appreciate because if I couldn’t write I don’t know what I’d do. I don’t even know what is so important about the locket anyways. It was just a gift from Lucian when he got back from scouting in the woods. He said he found it on the forest floor and he thought it would look pretty on me.

Dear Diary,

It’s later in the day now. I heard Callen and his father arguing on the first floor about something. I think Callen has the locket but I guess the key is needed too. I know where it is but we won’t be able to get it by tonight though. I don’t even know where he is, but I know he didn’t carry it with him constantly. Maybe he left it back at his home before he left. I hope they come up here soon so I can try and help. But maybe I should take a nap first. I don’t feel really good.

Dear Diary,

I don’t know what happened but I somehow ended up in my bed. My diary was on the bedside table with my pen and my chair was pushed in. I know I fell, probably off my chair, I have a bruise on my elbow and a cut that’s covered up on my cheek. The sun is starting to set and I’m not sure if they have a way to open the locket. I hope they do. I don’t want Callen to get hurt if his father loses his control.

December 30th, 2085

Dear Diary,

My father is going absolutely nuts and I know I don’t write in this thing often but Skylar says it helps her to think. Skylar’s locket that her friend gave her was my mother’s and it was a gift from my father. A piece of black moonstone was locked in the heart when he first gave it to my mom and the key that was with it was never supposed to be separated. But now Skylar is down the hall slowly turning into one of us and that is the last thing I want. We’re like the most hated species on the entire planet but really it’s the angelic beings that kill more than we do. They trick humans into offering themselves up and then turn them to stone. I’m going to get the key and save her. I have to… I love her.

Dear Diary,

I got the key. It was where she said it was in her diary. It was at his house in the drawer of his desk. The locket was opened and the ritual to save my mother’s life was finished but I was too late. Skylar was a darkling already. Her moon-like eyes were even more beautiful now though… but she’ll never be able to go back home. I mean she says she doesn’t want to because… now she’ll really get to be with me. Forever.

Love

About the Creator

Michaela McDonald

New to Vocal

I like to write fiction, but I am not sure of the style for this platform. I am hoping to find a crowd that'll enjoy my works. Most of my writing is dark fictional stories from a universe I created.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Michaela McDonaldWritten by Michaela McDonald

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.