Fiction logo

In Reverse

a microfiction story

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Created with CanvaPro

I stared at my reflection.

The dress was a bold choice. A woman my age probably shouldn't show so much skin, but I wanted to feel beautiful. Sexy.

Nerves crept in the longer I looked. This was stupid. Who was I kidding? I couldn't–

Stop it! I know you're overthinking...just go!

I huffed a laugh. Jen's text was perfect timing.

-

The doorman gave me a wide-eyed appraisal as I entered the ballroom, boosting my ego a bit.

Until I noticed another woman wearing the same distinct dress.

With one critical difference.

Sigh.

The plunging neckline was in the back.

Microfiction

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (27)

  • Pauline Fountainabout a year ago

    Perfect! Masterful of the craft. Relatable for me! And I laughed! Pauline 🌸

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Haha! Loved this, Heaher! (How did I miss it for 3 days?)

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    I bet it looked better the way the narrator wore it❤️ Love it ❤️

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    Hahaha! This has actually happened to me before…honestly though, it looked better backwards😂

  • I would have died, lol! This was a jaw dropping story!

  • Heather, I have no doubt you could pull off the look no matter how you put it on, lol. (Though it sounds kinda like being a pastor who notices after worship that his fly is down--or that he/she forgot to turn the lavalier off when going to the bathroom.)

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    😂 priceless!

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    That was good. Iiked the main character

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    🤦🏽‍♀️ 😅 Her way of nonconformity? Or maybe she wants to start a new trend... Who am I kidding she doesn't know fashion from shinola. lol Great take, Heather.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    🤣🤣🤣 Brilliant!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    PMSL, ffs. Okay, this time, you got me. I didn't see that coming. AT. ALL! Hilarious. And I think it was Melissa that said that the history you had built up was great, for such a short story. Love it!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Oopsy, but I bet she gets free drinks all night. 😊I did not see that coming. I really am loving these micro stories! Great work my friend!

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Loved it.I laughed at the end. Well done.

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    Better to malfunction Your wardrobe than to have Your wardrobe malfunction. Besides, as long as it fits comfortably, and looks fashionably stylish, why not continue to wear it the way it is?

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    I love the history you seem to already feel with the characters even though it’s just a short story! ❤️

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    well, go big or go home!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    hahaha. Oops. It was probably better your way anyhow.

  • Manpreet Singh Bhinderabout a year ago

    Very well done!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!! Loved it, Heather!!!💖💖💕

  • Oh dear, well I preferred the way you wore it, excellent tale

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Hahaha oh no 🤣🤣. This is such a great one, Heather!!

  • Ha! I love the way you built the suspense, then knocked it out of the park with perfectly-timed humor!

  • Mohammed Darasiabout a year ago

    😂😂😂 great story! Love the reveal at the end. So funny

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Lol, this made my day 🤦🏽‍♀️🥰🤣😂

Heather HublerWritten by Heather Hubler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.