Fiction logo

Immersion for the soul

A 250 word snowy microfiction

By Emmy BPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
3

“5, 4, 3, 2, 1!”

And I’m in. The cold overtakes me. A gasping breath is pushed out of my lungs, arms stinging, legs flailing. The rock I am sitting on is digging into my lower back, which I cannot feel anymore. Who knew water could stab you so efficiently? A million pinpricks skim along my skin, my nerves screaming and shouting. Where have my toes gone? I feel how white they are, drained of essential blood rushing back to preserve my vital organs.

And then silence. Thirty seconds in, and all is silence. My skin has become a carapace, a shield, my protector. The slip slap of the water echoes as it softly collides with an icy rock. The snow is blinding yet calm in front of me as the morning sun emerges to strike it full of crystals. Silence.

It’s back. Pain is suffocating me. My back is compressed from the inside out. And now the white layer of snow is glaring at me, adding offence to my eyes as my body reminds me it is slowly freezing. An ice cube, I am going to be an ice cube. How long until hypothermia kicks in? What am I doing here?

Deep breaths. In, and out. The cold is my friend. Suddenly he is here - his voice clear and crisp to my addled mind:

“5, 4, 3, 2, 1!” A sudden giddiness feeds my smile as the two eternal minutes come to an end.

Success!

Pride!

Pure elation.

Microfiction
3

About the Creator

Emmy B

I write some of my truths, and use words to weave stories and ideas together. Writing is a passion and an outlet for me and I hope to inspire, challenge, or simply be a reflection of others's experiences - to make people feel seen!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Ouuuu this is so awesome - every moment was so vividly told. I love this perspective on the challenge!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I went on this journey with you, the stages, one giving way to another, the relief of containment. Excellent.

  • Ooh, chillingly fascinating story!!! Great work!!!

  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    arggggh, an icy dip! No thanks. Nicely done, Emmy.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.