Fiction logo

If Walls Could Talk

If walls could talk, I would have so many stories to tell.

By Archer Published about a year ago 3 min read
If Walls Could Talk
Photo by Bruce Warrington on Unsplash

If walls could talk, I would have so many stories to tell. But alas, I am not like other walls. I can talk. And not just talk, but think and feel. It's a peculiar existence, being a sentient wall. I've seen so much over the years, and it's hard to keep it all inside.

I remember when this room was first built. The carpenters were rough with me, but I didn't mind. It was nice to be a part of something new. The room was small but cozy, and it was soon filled with people. A couple moved in, and they were happy. They laughed, cooked, and danced. They even hung pictures on me, which was a nice touch. I liked them.

But then, things started to change. They argued more, and the laughter was replaced by silence. They stopped dancing, and the pictures were taken down. The couple grew distant, and eventually, they left. The room was empty again.

Over the years, I've seen so many people come and go. Some stayed for a while, and others only for a night. Some were happy, and some were sad. But they all left their mark on me. There are scuffs and scratches, stains and marks. Some are from accidents, and some are from fights. But they are all a part of my story.

The most interesting people I've seen were a group of friends who used to come here every week. They would sit on the floor, play music, and talk for hours. They were a lively bunch, and I always enjoyed their company. They were always so full of energy and life.

One day, they brought in a girl I had never seen before. She was shy and quiet, but she had a sparkle in her eye. They sat around her, and she played a song on the guitar. It was beautiful, and I felt something I had never felt before. It was like my very atoms were vibrating in time with the music. The friends noticed it too, and they started to dance. The girl smiled, and I felt a warmth in my heart. I knew that she was special.

They kept coming back, and the girl became a regular. She grew more confident, and her music got better. One day, she played a song that made me weep. It was a sad song, but it was beautiful. The friends hugged her, and I could feel their love for her.

But then, one day, they stopped coming. The room was empty again, and I was alone. I missed them, especially the girl. I hoped she was doing well.

Years passed, and I saw so many people come and go. But the girl was always in my thoughts. I wondered where she was and what she was doing. I hoped that she was happy.

And then, one day, she came back. She was older, but she still had that sparkle in her eye. She walked around the room, and I could tell she was remembering things. She sat down in the corner and played a song. It was a new song, and it was beautiful. I could feel her happiness, and I was happy too.

If walls could talk, they would tell you that life is full of ups and downs. They would tell you that people come and go, but their memories remain. They would tell you that love and happiness are fleeting, but they are worth the pain.

I am just a wall, but I have seen so much. I have felt the joy and the sorrow of those who have passed through this room. And I will continue to feel it, long after they are gone. If walls could talk, I would tell you that life is beautiful, even in its imperfections.

family

About the Creator

Archer

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Archer Written by Archer

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.