Fiction logo

If walls could talk a story of perseverance.

The inspiring tale of surmounting challenges and overcoming adversity

By Doug LemonsPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like
If walls could talk a story of perseverance.
Photo by Stephen Pedersen on Unsplash

If walls could talk, is what I have heard a lot over the years I have stood hear. But what story would I begin with I have so many in this home I have held up for so long. I have seen love, hate, joy and sorrow all from the same spot. I have seen families reunite and friends part ways. I have seen the tears of the newly married couple, and the laughter of the children, who grew up in this very room. I have seen the pain of a father who just lost his son, yet still managed to keep his composure. I have seen the courage and determination of a mother, as she battled through difficult days with her son. I have seen beautiful women and handsome men come and go, their stories ever changing. I have seen the shame in some people's faces when they walked past me and their secrets revealed. But more than anything, I have seen the power of hope and love that breaks through all walls, even the thickest of them. I have seen one form of love that can crack the hardest of hearts, and I have seen two people reach out for the other and traverse any divide. If me or any other of the walls here could talk, we might be able to share the secrets of moments of beauty, despite the power of distance that seems set away from us. On one hand, walls may be seen as a barrier something to keep us apart yet if walls could talk, we might be able to tell a different story. I have heard couples whisper sweet nothings, so low even I couldn't always make out the words. I have heard tears of joy, the sound of laughter and some of the deepest conversations. These moments I keep to myself, a silent witness of love and devotion that linger in the walls of the dwelling I inhabit. My walls can give themselves away. It is an understanding that love knows no boundaries and obstacles can easily be transcended.I feel the warmth of pure emotion that lingers along my architecture, wanting to spread it further. Yet, as much as this love persists, so does the fear of separation. Walls created by fear and insecurity, fortified over time by layers of pain and despair. It is in the way that love manifests itself in its truest form that can break apart the strongest of barriers. If a wall could talk, you would know that reaching out to someone across the divide from these walls can be a journey of courage. Every handhold is carefully considered and the smallest of gestures can bring about the most powerful of changes. It takes immense strength for two people to come together to form a union that defies all obstacles. A union often composed of two hearts that cannot be dissuaded by any form of barrier. It is strength in the face of division that I've seen in action. Walls can not talk but if I could I would speak of courage in the face of division. If two people are willing to risk everything for each other, that's what I would want to see. If only walls could talk I often marvel at the stories I hear, if I could just speak, I can recite the tales of love, courage, and divison I have witnessed throughout my life span. Coming into the life of the heart of London, I have heard the stories of countless couples in love, fleeing the city to escape division and hatred. I have watched their lives, seen their love blossom, the courage they have had to conquer the odds and the courage it will take to fight for each other against any division that might threaten their future. I have heard the tales of a young couple, Mary and Philip, who daringly ran off together to avoid a marriage that threatened to distance them as soon as they stepped into the world. Separated by their families and forbidden to see one another,the burning devotion between them never decreased or subsided. Even in the moments when their families felt their connections were too strong and forbidden them from seeing each other,they managed to catch glimpses of each other, even if it meant meeting in the early morning hours. I would see their silhouettes in the shadows of the night, holding hands as if nothing else mattered. I have seen families queuing entwined in my walls, separated from each other by receding tides, never knowing if they would see their loved ones again. I have seen so much fear and uncertainty, but also courage and determination in the face of division and upheaval. When the waters parted and everyone was freed, they all but ran to one another, embracing and shouting with joy. I could tell this family belonged together and that love had overcome the impossible. But, I have also seen the sadness in their eyes as some who have been separated by the tide never reunited. I have heard brave people use their voices to speak out against the injustices of society, and have watched change makers set out to make a difference. I have seen the 'naysayers' that claim to speak out of love, yet all their words do is tear people and families apart. I have seen those who stayed within the status quo, and those who followed the lead of their own convictions, regardless of how much opposition they faced. I have seen hatred and division stand in the way of love, but, I have also seen the courage of some people, who chose to stand up and fight for those they love and care for, no matter what the cost. Divisions, caused by race and religion have often stood in their way, but love has more often than not prevailed, with those torn apart by prejudice and bigotry reuniting with their loved ones on the other side. The stories I've heard teach me above all, that love and courage can conquer any division, and nothing is impossible to those brave enough to stand up for what they believe in, even if it means facing great opposition. If walls could talk, they would tell stories of resilience, strength and bravery. I, however, have a different tale to tell. I am no hero, but I have seen more than my fair share of life experiences in my long existence. My walls have stood for centuries, protecting the inhabitants of this house from all perils of the outside world. I have witnessed many generations pass through these walls. I have seen them grow, learn, love and cry. I have been a silent witness to joyous celebrations, silent tears of grief and long conversations filled with laughter and secrets. In my walls are stories and secrets that have only ever been shared within this four cornered chamber of memories. I have been there in times of war, when the walls shook and trembled with fear. I have seen despair, courage and hope. I have seen families divide and fall apart; dreams shattered and lives cut short by death. Yet I have also seen families reunite, friendships renew and love last a lifetime. My walls have witnessed great moments in history, both the moments we celebrate and the moments we choose to forget. I have seen people come together to form alliances and defend against oppression. I have seen them speak out against injustice and march through the streets in protest. I have seen those brave enough to stand up for what they believe in, even if it means facing great opposition. I have heard screams, pleas, moans and cries from within these four walls. People have sang out of joy, laughed out of sheer happiness and cried out of pain. A variety of emotions have run through these walls, ones of anger, sorrow, frustration and despair. But even during those darkest of days, those feelings of hope and optimism linger and eventually, the sun will always rise again. My walls have also held secrets, secrets that should never be revealed. From secrets of love and secrets of betrayal, secrets of politics and secrets of abuse, these secrets will stay within these four walls for generations to come. They serve as a reminder to keep peace, treat others with kindness and never tell a lie. My walls may not be brave, but they are strong and will continue to stand through the passages of time. I may not be a hero, but I have borne witness to many stories, both good and bad. I am the one constant in this house, and I will continue to stand as a permanent reminder of justice, love and strength. If walls could talk, I would tell you this: never give up, never fear and always persevere.

family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.