Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

I Was In The House When The House Burned Down

For The Conviction [an unofficial challenge] by Belle

By Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Published about a month ago 2 min read
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

This is for the challenge below and inspired by the title of the wonderful song by the sadly missed Warren Zevon.

Why It Happened

I was now being questioned in police custody.

I had handed them another copy of my evidence that showed that our Government were planning to "house" refugees and asylum seekers into cargo ships, and move them off the coast and have them sunk in a "terrible tragedy". Not only that, they had colluded with hedge funds to insure the lives of the planned murder victims and collect when the deed was done.

They were effectively insured by the taxpayer so it would be a win/win for the government and hedge funds.

I had given the evidence to the police before and it was "lost", so this time I presented it again, but copies had been sent to worldwide agencies, and if this were not made public then they would make sure that it was.

After the first time I tried to expose this, I started to receive anonymous threats, saying there would be dire consequences if I continued trying to denigrate and slander these important people with my accusations.

I do not believe power and money should shield you from responsibility and criminal acts, especially murder.

Then I awoke and the house was on fire.

I managed to get out with minor burns and with a copy of my evidence file.

The police said that it looked like a couple of Molotov cocktails had been thrown through the front room and kitchen windows, but they would not be investigating.

They took my evidence and said that this might make the Prime Minister and Cabinet look bad, and as they were appointed by the King, then this was a crime against the King and therefore treasonous, and the punishment for treason was still execution.

"If you hadn't shared this, then you might have just got life imprisonment"

I was still handcuffed to the interview desk, although nothing was being recorded.

I did not expect this outcome, but it was all done now, there was no going back.

The police questioned me once more and asked me again why I had done this. I could not understand why they were questioning me

"I did what I had to do."

thrillerShort StoryMysteryMicrofiction

About the Creator

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Anu Mehjabinabout a month ago

    Incredible storytelling!

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    That picture is VIVID. Goes so well with your story....

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    I second Dharr's comments. Provocative and important story, Mike!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    The ones committing crime and fraud gets away with everything. But the ones who try to expose them gets in trouble. What a world we live in

  • shanmuga priyaabout a month ago

    Interesting story!

  • The Dani Writerabout a month ago

    Great story here Mike! Kinda sucks that the realities of the "underhanded class" are very much nonfiction.

  • Jason Ray Morton about a month ago

    Awesome story.

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Written by Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.