Fiction logo

I Want To Share My Work

How to go about sharing it though...

By Stephen Kramer AvitabilePublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - July 2023
38
I Want To Share My Work
Photo by Tom Hermans on Unsplash

“I want to share my work!” Scandium shouted as he marched into the kitchen.

Nomlie, the magenta-colored fairy, fluttered across Scandium’s face and landed on the coffee machine. She perched there, all seven inches of her, an inquisitive look on her face.

“Then, why not share your work?” She asked.

Scandium, realizing he was inside his home now, pulled his oxygen mask off his face and set it on the counter next to his ray gun and his cell phone.

“But I need to go about it in the right way. Don’t I?” Scandium asked.

“What would that be?” Nomlie asked.

“Shouldn’t I shout it from the rooftops?!”

“I wouldn’t. The Krakney are still circling the city. The big ones. Twice your size… six-legged, sons-a-guns. Been here since Monday, won’t leave til they got enough food.”

“Alright, fine.” Scandium thought for a moment. “Then, I will drop my work in the information tube and have it shot out to every resident in the quadrant!”

“Nope, out of order.” Nomlie informed him as she licked her hand with her two-pronged, neon green tongue. “Every time someone has tried using it recently, the packages get jammed and the reactor sparks until it starts a fire.”

“Ugh! What am I to do?!” Scandium reached for the coffee machine and Nomlie hopped off before she was flung off.

Scandium popped a pod into the coffee machine, put his mug underneath, and began brewing his second cup of the day. Nomlie repositioned herself on top of the refrigerator, right next to the Kale-Generator. She opened her mouth to respond but Scandium cut her off.

“They deserve a big to-do!” He said. “My work. One of them, it’s Sci-Fi. And the other… well, I don’t know how to classify it. I could say fantasy, but I don’t know if that’s accurate. Maybe magic realism? But I’m not even certain.”

“You can just say it’s speculative fiction.” Nomlie suggested. “That covers a lot.”

“Yes! You are right! I love the term speculative fiction! Because I just write things and sometimes I don’t know how to classify them. I don’t know the genre. And anytime there is some ‘unreal’ element, I can just plop it under the ‘speculative’ genre and say ‘You figure it out.’”

“But what constitutes as ‘unreal’ nowadays?” Nomlie asked as she stroked one of her two wings. A bug jumped off her wing and she swiped at it with her four-fingered hand, but missed. Scandium nodded, placing his hand on his oxygen mask while he thought. An alert beeped from his suit, notifying him of his decreasing caffeine levels, so he promptly took two big gulps of his freshly brewed coffee.

“It’s a good point. But I still feel, given the nature of these stories, that they deserve…”

“They deserve an introduction as strange as they are?” Nomlie’s eyebrows bounced up and down.

Scandium smirked. He scanned his surroundings, both with his human eye and with the computer-generated eyeball that the lab printed out for him. Ever since he left Earth and came here… he’s absorbed every single weird thing and allowed it to become normal. But this was a strange place. Strange indeed.

“So, just start telling people.” Nomlie suggested. “You can start by telling me.”

“Okay!” Scandium was thrilled. He cleared his throat.

“I have two stories that got published today! I have a Sci-Fi story called 'Looting While Dead' which you can find on Sci-Fi Shorts. It’s about space exploration, people on a foreign planet, what they do to make ends meet. That’s my second story that I have published on that publication. It's in the Member's Area.”

Nomlie nodded.

“And I also have a… speculative fiction story… it’s called 'The Booth' and it’s on Clever Fox Literary Magazine. That’s my first time being published there. I don’t know quite how to describe this one without giving too much away. The main character struggles with his desires in life. He struggles with the feeling of being deprived.”

Nomlie gave a quiet golf-clap. “You did well. That’s all that’s needed. There’s no need for big fanfare. You don’t have to shout it from the rooftops or create AN ENTIRE, DETAILED STORY JUST TO PROMOTE YOUR STORIES.”

“I suppose you’re right.”

**************

So, if you're interested, you can go give my stories a read. Also, I put a direct link to "Looting While Dead" in the comments. I had trouble pasting the link into the body of the story, so down in the comments it resides...

Additionally, a link to Clever Fox below that.

HumorSci FiFantasy
38

About the Creator

Stephen Kramer Avitabile

I'm a creative writer in the way that I write. I hold the pen in this unique and creative way you've never seen. The content which I write... well, it's still to be determined if that's any good.

https://www.stephenavitabilewriting.com/

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey10 months ago

    Very creative

  • Mark Graham10 months ago

    This a a great sci-fi fantasy book. To me this could be a youth sci-fi fantasy book or is that your intention.

  • Sarah D10 months ago

    nice writing!Read mine too dearie! Its a bit naughty! https://vocal.media/fiction/an-irrevocable-dream-about-a-mermaid

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Innovative and well put together. Congratulations on your publishing successes and a Top,Story about it, in a clever way.

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    I love how you turned your accomplishments into a story. A great way to get us excited to read the works on the links provided. Much much better than going on the rooftops. Stay away from the rooftops! It’s dangerous up there, lol. Thanks again for sharing and congrats!

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    This is very clever. I love what you have done here. Congrats on the well deserved Top Story.

  • Ikechukwu Modungwo10 months ago

    Well you did create an entire story to promote your stories, but you did it in a cool way and I just can't help but wonder where Scandium found himself after leaving earth. Perhaps in the multiverse or is it metaverse. By the way Scandium is a passively weird human name. Lol. Nice read anyhow.

  • Story writing 10 months ago

    Ok

  • Yulianto Arif10 months ago

    Congratulations

  • Congratulations on the top story and on getting published!!

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    Stephen, I love this & Scandium & Nomlie! Your work is brilliant and refreshing. Congratulations! 💜👏💜

  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    Clever and very engaging. I enjoyed this greatly. Top Story, well deserved.

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    Rather brill!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    Well done! Creative and perfect 👌

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Congratulations, Stephen, on all three! I'll be checking those out!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Clever way to promote your stuff. Well done and congrats on the TS

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Congrats, Stephen! On your stories being published… 🥳 And on Top Story! 🥂 I’ll reply to this comment with what I think of the stories. Gonna get in my cozy chair and read them this afternoon.

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    I love that you wrote a story to tell us about your stories!! 🤣🤣😁

  • Of course I'm interested! I'll leave this tab open to come back to it later. Oh and thank you for the link below as well because I did have trouble finding your first one, lol!

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    Well done Stephen! Congratulations on your accomplishments :)

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Speculative fiction and “figure it out for yourselves” made me laugh. 😄 Congrats on your accomplishments!!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Love this story!!! Splendidly written!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    I admire you so much. I’m so excited for you. Thanks for sharing your wins with us, so we can help you celebrate. 🎊

  • And in case anyone has trouble, I hope this direct link to "Looting While Dead" works: https://www.scifishorts.co/premium/looting-while-dead

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.