Fiction logo

I want to love you more

a love story

By javaria hassanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
6
I want to love you more
Photo by Johann Siemens on Unsplash

IN THE CLASSROOM

Ana: Hey!

Jack: how' you doing?

Ana: I'm doing well. What about you?

Jack: yeah! I am fine. Where were you since the last three days, I missed you and, you didn't receive a call.

Ana: Sorry! I had to go to the doctor.

Jack: Oh! really? Is everything OK?

Ana: Nothing special it was a routine checkup. 

Jack: Oh!

Ana: So, what you did in math and science in the last three days?

Jack: well! you had not lost much but just some notes you will cover them.

Ana: Hmm

Jack: Is everything OK?

Ana: I want to ask you 3 questions for you. Can I?

Jack: yeah! sure.

Ana: How much do you love me?

Jack: I love you most in this world and you know better how much I love you.

Ana: Yeah!

Jack: Why did you ask?

Ana: Silence

Jack: Is everything fine?

Ana: No, Nothing at all. Um. How much do you care for me?

Jack: I would give you the world in a heartbeat if I could.

Ana: you would?

Jack: Yeah of course I would. sounding worried Is there something wrong?

Ana: No, Everything is fine.

Jack: Are you sure?

Ana: Yeah!

Jack: I hope so.

Ana: Would you die for me?

Jack: Yeah! I would take a bullet for you.

Ana: Really? You will die.

Jack: I will die for you. Is there something wrong?

Ana: No, I am fine, You are fine, We both are fine and are meant to be together always. I wanted to listen to answers from you that's why I asked you.

Jack: Hmm

Ana: Okay I will see you later, I need to go home.

Jack: Okay dear!

By Steve Richey on Unsplash

THE NEXT DAY AT SCHOOL

Jack to his friend: Have you seen Ana? 

friend: No.

Jack: Yesterday she was sounding weird.

friend: You know all girls do the same. Don't worry she would be fine.

Jack: Hmm. Okay, I'll talk to you later. Let me find her.

friend: Okay, take care.

THAT NIGHT

Jack: Hey! Ana, why were you absent today?

Ana: tears in her eyes I think we should break up.

Jack: What? Are you silly?

Ana: This would be best for us.

Jack: Why?

Ana: I love you but now it's time to end this.

Jack: But...

Ana left

ANA DID NOT COME TO SCHOOL FOR MORE THAN THREE WEEKS AND DID NOT ANSWER HIS PHONE

Friend of Jack: Hey! dude.

Jack: Hey!

Friend: What's up?

Jack: Nothing.

Friend: Have you talked to your ex lately?

Jack: No, she is not answering.

Friend: So you didn’t hear?

Jack: What??

Friend: Um, I don’t know if I should be the one to tell you…

Jack: Dude, just tell me.

Friend: Have this number and do contact it.

JACK CALLS THE NUMBER AFTER SCHOOL

Voice: Hello, City Hospital. This is Nurse Victoria.

Jack:  Uh, I must have the wrong number. I’m looking for my friend.

Voice: What's the name, sir?

boy gives info

Voice: She’s one of our patients here.

Jack: What happened? How is she?

Voice: Please come by, sir, and you can see her. Goodbye.

Jack: Wait!!! No.

By Sandy Millar on Unsplash

THE BOY GOES TO HOSPITAL

Jack: Oh my God!!! Are you okay?

Ana: Silence

Jack: Dear, talk to me!

Ana: I...

Jack: You.... what?

Ana: I have cancer and I’m on life support.

Jack breaks into tears

Ana: They’re taking me off tonight.

Jack: But why?

Ana: I wanted to tell you, but I couldn’t.

Jack: Why didn’t you tell me?

Ana: I didn’t want to hurt you.

Jack: You could never hurt me.

Ana: I just wanted to see if you felt about me the same as I felt about you.

Jack: What?

Ana:  I love you more than anything. I would give you the world in a heartbeat. I would die for you and take a bullet for you.

Jack starts crying

Nurse: Young man, visiting hours are over.

Ana: I am with you always.                                                                                      

Jack leaves and later that night Ana is taken off of life support and dies, but what the Jack didn’t know is that Ana only asked him those questions so she could hear him say it one last time. She only broke up with him because she knew she only had 3 more weeks left to live and thought that it would cause him less pain and give him time to get over her before she died.

By Michael D Beckwith on Unsplash

NEXT DAY

Jack sitting by Ana's grave

I said that I would get bullet one day for you but you left me dying daily. I am sorry. I couldn't save you.

I want to love you more...

Short Story
6

About the Creator

javaria hassan

I publish short love stories, essays. hope you will love my work and will support me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.