Fiction logo

I Never Thought I Would Hear So Much Within The Walls Of My Home

Who would believe me if I tell them, I was hearing stories coming from my walls?

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago β€’ 3 min read
5
I Never Thought I Would Hear So Much Within The Walls Of My Home
Photo by David van Dijk on Unsplash

If walls could talk is what I was reminded of the very first time I heard this faint noise coming from my wall. I was sitting in my recliner reading when I could hear this faint whisper. "You are not safe here."

I sat perfectly still, then looked at my phone to see if the noise was coming from my phone. My phone has spoken to me before and I didn't know how to shut it off, but to shut the entire phone off.

But this is different. The voice was coming from an external wall, so I got up to look out the window and no one was there. I then looked up at the ceiling and nothing. We didn't have an upstairs. And no basement.

The sound was indeed coming from my wall. I decided I was going to do something about that today, so I went to law enforcement and told them the warning I received in my home. I told them that I was interested in the history of that address.

They said, they didn't think anything would come of it but they promised to get back to me within a few days. They were looking at me like I was crazy during our entire conversation and I can't blame them.

After picking up a few groceries, I went home. After having a bite to eat, I sat down to read.

The quiet voice from the wall started in, "On February 2, 1973, a woman living here fell down your front stairs. It was termed accidental death. Then on February 2, 1993, a man died in the bathtub. It was deemed a suicide."

The voice continued as I scribbled notes. "Then on February 2, 2003, a woman was said to have died from an allergic reaction to seafood. It is February 2, 2023, and someone will die. You are not safe here!"

Did you see all of these things happen I said to the wall, feeling very foolish for asking.

"Yes, I did and more. Your neighbor is an old man and has lived in his house since the 60s. Do not trust him or let him in." I thought for crazy, I had only this morning invited this neighbor in for dinner tonight. He has been my one good neighbor.

The wall said again, "You are not safe here!"

By Crawford Jolly on Unsplash

Even though I listened to everything the wall said, I thought I must be having a psychotic break, and hearing voices. Tomorrow, I am going to the hospital to sign myself in. That is when the sign "You Are Dead" appeared on my closet wall.

There is no way that anyone will believe me if I tell them everything that I just heard and saw. I will have dinner tonight, sleep and go to the hospital as planned tomorrow.

At 5:30 p.m. I answered the door and in walked my neighbor. I told him that it was good to see him and that dinner would be ready soon. Then I told him that I have not been feeling well and would probably be away from home for a week or so starting tomorrow.

He looked concerned and asked if there was anything he could do to help. I told him no and quickly got dinner on the table.

After dinner, and my neighbor had left, I was more relaxed as I was getting sleepy and thought I should get ready for bed, even though it was early for me.

The next thing I knew I was sleeping and I could hear a fire truck off in the distance. As I realized the fire may be at my house, I couldn't move or do anything to save myself.

The next day the policeman who was asked to complete the history of the address visited that address, to find no house there, only remnants of what was a house.

He then went to the neighbors to interview him. He told the neighbor that the woman who died in the suspicious house fire next door, had mentioned some previous untimely deaths and that there is now an open case of possible murders that he would be investigating.

As he was driving away, he said to his partner, "If the walls start talking to you, it is a good idea to listen."

Short Story
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Great story super engaging and an enjoyable read!

  • Scary and well written

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fantastic story!!! Enjoyed the read and left a heart!!!πŸ’•πŸ’–

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.