Fiction logo

I'm Not Supposed to Die this Way

the Fragility and Resilience of Life

By leon felixPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
I'm Not Supposed to Die this Way
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

I’m not supposed to die this way. That’s what I keep telling myself as I lay on the ground, gasping for air, with a bullet wound in my chest. I never thought that my life would end like this, in a dark alley, bleeding out, with no one around to help me.

It started with a simple job. I was supposed to break into a warehouse and steal some goods. I had done this many times before, but this time things went wrong. I don't know how, but the guards somehow knew I was coming. They caught me off guard and before I knew it, I was in a gunfight.

I managed to take down a few of the guards, but I didn't see the one who got me. The bullet hit me in the chest, and I fell to the ground. My mind was racing, and all I could think about was how I wasn't supposed to die like this. I was supposed to die peacefully, surrounded by my loved ones, not alone in a dark alley.

As I lay there, the pain began to spread throughout my body. I tried to move, but it felt like there was a ton of weight on my chest. I knew I was dying, and it terrified me. I didn't want to die, not yet. I had so much more to do, so much more to see.

I started to lose consciousness, but before I completely blacked out, I heard footsteps approaching. I tried to open my eyes, but everything was blurry. I saw a figure kneeling next to me, and I heard a voice calling my name. It was my best friend, Max.

Max had always been there for me, through thick and thin. We had been through a lot together, and I knew he wouldn't let me die alone. He held my hand and told me everything would be okay, but I knew it wouldn't.

As I took my last breath, I realized that I had been living my life the wrong way. I had been so focused on getting ahead and making money that I had forgotten what really mattered in life. I had forgotten about the people who loved me and the moments that made life worth living.

In that moment, I wished I could go back and do things differently. I wished I had spent more time with my family and friends, and less time chasing after material possessions. I wished I had appreciated the little things in life, like the sound of the birds chirping in the morning or the smell of fresh coffee.

But it was too late. I was gone, and I couldn't change anything. My life had ended in a dark alley, with nothing but regret and sorrow.

I'm not supposed to die this way, but I did. And now, all I can do is hope that my story serves as a warning to others. Don't get so caught up in the rat race that you forget what really matters in life. Cherish every moment, love deeply, and appreciate the beauty that surrounds you. Because you never know when your time will come.

life is unpredictable, and we should never take it for granted. We must appreciate the people and experiences we have in our lives and make the most of them. It's also important to be aware of our surroundings and take precautions to ensure our safety. Additionally, the story highlights the importance of being courageous and standing up for ourselves in difficult situations. Sometimes, the unexpected can happen, but we must find the strength within ourselves to face it head-on and make the best of the situation.

Young AdultShort StoryFable
Like

About the Creator

leon felix

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.