Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

An Unexpected Conversation

For Belle's "Text Thoughts" Unofficial Challenge

By Paul StewartPublished 12 days ago Updated 12 days ago 3 min read
An Unexpected Conversation
Photo by Rhodi Lopez on Unsplash

Tuesday 3rd July, 2018

Tommy: Hey Matty, mate, how's you?

---

Wednesday 4th July, 2018

Tommy: Hey dude, I saw you got my message the other day, why the radio silence?

---

Thursday 5th July, 2018

Matthew: This is not funny - sicko

----

Friday 6th July, 2018

Tommy: Hello? What are you talking about?

---

Saturday 7th July, 2018

Tommy: what are you talking about? Since when was it a crime to check in on your best friend?

Matthew: I can't even...not today

---

Sunday 8th July, 2018

Tommy: Hey Matty, are we still not talking?

Tommy: I can see you getting my messages, remember. How long are you going to ignore me?

Matthew: You are not right in the head - whoever you are. How did you get Tommy's phone and number?

Tommy: I am Tommy.

Matthew: Well now I know you are a sicko and full of bull - you can't be Tommy.

Tommy: I can.

Matthew: Give up the sick game, asshole. Tommy's been dead for three weeks and this is not even funny. I will report you - how did you get the phone?

Tommy: Dude, you sound like a sicko now. I'm not dead and I'm Tommy, your best friend since kindergarten. Who told you I was dead?

Matthew: Your parents...Soph...it was in the news and everything. You are some sick asshole. For all I know you killed Tommy and kept a hold of his phone as a memento.

Tommy: I'm not dead, idiot and I never killed Tommy. That would be suicide. Did I ever strike you as a suicidal person?

Matthew: ...I can't deal with your sick sense of humour whoever you are... I'm going to send a copy of all these messages to the police.

Tommy: Wait. Don't do that. Hear me out for a moment. I am not quite sure what's going on, but I think there's been a misunderstanding. I've not been home for three weeks - do people really think I'm dead?

Matthew: Yes, because you are. The police found a body by that abandoned factory we, I mean Tommy and I, used to hang out at.

Tommy: That body wasn't mine, Matty. I need your help. Something weird is happening here.

Matthew: Bullshit. Do you get a kick out of this? Tormenting me about the guy you killed. Even if you didn't kill him, you're probably some lowlife scumbag who found the phone or bought it and thinks this is hilarious. When did you get your last hit?

Tommy: It's me.

Matthew: I saw the body with my own two eyes, whoever you are. This conversation ends now. I hope they arrest you throw away the key.

Tommy: Wait. I can prove it. I can prove I'm Tommy. Just...don't tell anyone.

Matthew. Oh, you are going all in... I admire that...even if you are a sicko with serious issues. How can you prove it?

Tommy: I'll take a selfie.

Matthew. haha. Good one pal. I wasn't born yesterday. You could just send an older pic - one that you took for your sick games before you bludgeoned him to death.

Tommy: No... I’ll make sure you can see the timestamp. You'll know it's a new picture. Please, buddy, just trust me.

Matthew: Whatever. I don't trust psychos and I think I will find that cop's number who left me his card.

Tommy: Give me a minute, please.

Matthew: I'll give you half a minute, because this will make for good evidence against you.

Tommy: Check the timestamp

Taken Sunday 8th July, 2018 at 23:55

Matthew: That's not Tommy at all.

Tommy: I know. Do you recognise the background, though, Matty boy? The white wall in your hallway...

Matthew: Wait...wtf...I'm calling the cops now.

Tommy: Too late, I'm coming for you, just like I did Lil’ Tommy, the whining baby.

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: This is for the awesome Belle's "Text Thoughts" Challenge, which you can find more out about below. You should also check out her pillar post about other challenges she is running and in fact, while you're there, check out her own work. She's a great writer.

PsychologicalShort StoryMysteryHorror

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Belleabout 4 hours ago

    A quick change! Incredible twist at the end there, Paul!

  • I'm super afraid of clowns or anyone in any kinda costume. So this was sooooo creepy! Loved it! 🍩🥐

  • Jess Boyes11 days ago

    Creepy!

  • Novel Allen12 days ago

    Clowns...sheesh. I don't like horror movies...nightmares. Run dude...run.

  • D.K. Shepard12 days ago

    So horrific!!! I really believed it was Tommy and then… a clown!!! Very creepy and very clever, Paul!

  • Christy Munson12 days ago

    Twisted! Yikes and wow. Suddenly I'm hearing a faint old record playing... "Send in the Clowns... don't bother... they're already here..."

  • Hannah Moore12 days ago

    Yeesh. Run!

  • John Cox12 days ago

    Whoa! Clowns always get the bad rap. Great tale, Paul!

  • Ruth Stewart12 days ago

    Oh sorry, my pet clown gets everywhere! 😂

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.