Fiction logo

I GET IT

TRAIN

By Tamika C Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
5

Wait, why am I moving? I open my eyes and sit up, where am I? Whose bed is this? Mom... Dad? Oh goodness no, they wouldn't dare? I look around and I'm standing in a tiny room with a tiny bed, tv, I guess this is the bathroom with no door and a open closet with my suitcase. My parents actually did it. They put me on this TRAIN! How could they even afford this? Man, I must of really pissed my mom off for them to have to do stoop to this level. I sit down and just start crying and rubbing my head, trying to remember what all happened.

Memory is slowly coming back. I was with Kimmy. Kimmy helps me and she doesn't even know it. This world is sad and the pressure of succeeding is draining. I don't feel anything when I am with her. She rarely goes to school and all she likes to do is party, I try my best not to hang out with her because I always get yelled at. My parents always want her to come over but she avoids parents like the plague.

I know I messed up, but to put me here? I start looking for my phone, hoping and praying the rumors that you cant have devices aren't true. No phone, tears start falling down. How long do they have me here for? I open my door, I hear people talking and walking around. There's an envelope outside my door, I open it and it says....

Welcome! We are encouraged to help you. You have a stay of 5 days, with good behavior and expectations being met. Please stick to your schedule and let us know if you have any questions. The following is your schedule and must be followed. Great, they have me on kitchen cleaning and dessert prep! Must report at 7am, I start to cry, like get me off of this thing I will get it together I don't need 5 days I GET IT!!!

TRAIN - This is where parents send there kids when I guess they cannot take it anymore and pay all of this money to punish the kids. They say its to help "train," your mind. I've heard them talking one night after I told them I wanted to runaway. My mom says "yea, she can run her ass right on that train." You cannot get off, they have Dr.s, Nurse's, Therapists, Police, teachers, etc. I call it punishment on a ride. I don't know anyone that has done it before. I don't think it works because hello, when I get off Im going to yell at them and wont talk to them again. This is torture, like how could they. Not sure where I will go but this is bullshit! Im sure I lost my job and my friends probably have no clue where Ive gone and most likely will be looking for me.

Knock on the door, and it's a nice lady Toya. Breakfast is ready and you only have 30 minutes to eat and then you have to start prepping desserts in the kitchen. I asked her if I could go back and she says "honey you are a long way from home but if you follow instructions you can get off and hopefully we won't have to see you again. I get dressed and head out, as I am walking I hear laughter, theres a group of kids playing games. The next cart is the breakfast, but everything costs money. Toya chuckles and says everything costs on here, even me coming to get you and she smiles, but it was a creepy not so nice smile. It freaked me out. She took the card I had around my neck and scanned it, handed it back to me and said thank you, and enjoy. With confusion all on my face the server tells me that the card has $50.00 on it and I now probably have $45.00. Says everyone has to work and you will get an allowance at the end of your shift, but its mainly used for food and activities. The money that was on there is from your parents. After eating and paying for it I was down to $35.00. I start prepping for desserts, I guess this is for dinner. I had to cut 100 slices of cake and plastic wrap them and put $5.00 on it. I am tired, and I wanna lay down. I made $9.00 for prepping desserts.

To try and get back in my room I had to use the fob and a red light came on. Are you kidding me, I cant go lay down? A lady on the tablet pops up and says, are you sick? You are going into your room at a restricted time and must go see a therapist for a pass or the Dr. if you are not feeling well. I start crying. Bang my head against the door and slide down into my knees, saying Im sorry, I wont, drink again, I wont sneak out and steal the car. I will do better, I promise. I get it, but no phone, not able to talk to my friends, no social media, TV but no streaming, what is cable? No lying down. Is this a bad dream? Pinch myself and I pop up.

Humor
5

About the Creator

Tamika C

Where I come to ease my mind. Finally just making time to write and read, which is what I use to enjoy doing.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayla Garland2 years ago

    Wow this is good.

  • Simone Nady2 years ago

    very good enjoyed reading

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.