Fiction logo

I FOUND LOVE IN YABA MARKET

I experienced Bollywood love firsthand.

By AyoOPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
1
Photo from Wikipedia

 

First off, can we applaud me?

I went to the market with my cousin, watched her buy the whole market, and bought nothing.

Okay, I bought one top.

Two tops. It was only two tops.

 

I admire how being broke disciplines people, or is it just me? Trying to be independent makes it worse. Sighs

Where do I start?

Do I start with the no parking signage by the police indicating that vehicles should not park, but vehicles, korope to be precise, are parked beside and in front?

Someone said this country is a comedy movie that should be on Netflix.

Korope - small bus

I'm not sure I want to start there.

I'll start with how this conductor tied us—my cousin and me—to another man for change. What's worse is that there was no change everywhere we asked. The man had to leave the money with us.

Can we talk about how much the beggars in Lagos hustle?

They would hug you, hold you, follow you, and nearly kiss your feet to get you to give them money.

It reminds me of this Arabian family I once saw. The little Arabian boy’s pidgin is even better than mine. This boy held onto my younger sister among the five of us, like she was the chosen one. He cried, held her hand, rested on her, and did a whole lot. You would be tempted to give him all your money if you had.

On the other hand, my younger sister was scared, and even I was. It was our first encounter with that kind of hustle.

The hustle is real, man. 

Then we entered Yaba Market to start shopping. My cousin was buying the entire market, and there was me, the fake market guru, haggling for her until I got a call and left her with the buyer to answer the call.

After the call, I had to use my phone to send what I wanted to the person. I was doing so when my phone slipped out of my hands.

As I bent to pick up my phone, I saw this man; he had the most deep and soulful eyes, his nose as pointed as anything, and a well-trimmed beard.

The most handsome face I have seen in my whole life. When Solomon said, “Your lips are like a ribbon of scarlet and your mouth is lovely.” I think he was talking about him. 

He had the thickest set of muscles, and the top he wore only made the sight of his well-sculpted arms more appealing. Imagine licking ice cream off those arms.

He had the finest and clearest melanin skin I had ever seen in my whole life. the most refined features, the most refined features

Even when Solomon said “there is no flaw or blemish in you”, it had to be this man he saw.

I don't think I'll ever be able to perfectly describe the beauty I saw; it was like that of a hundred of the most handsome men, like the beauty of the sun.

I'm surprised everyone else was not staring at him .

I could dedicate a thousand words to tell you about his beauty, but it won't be enough.

I experienced Bollywood love firsthand.

I didn't realize my mouth was wide open as I bent to pick up the phone with this man in front of me, only a few feet away.

“Kudu ihe na-eme gị onye nzuzu.” I heard this man with beauty as that of the sun say to me.

“What is wrong with you, clumsy fool?” I would later find out that's what he meant.

He stood up, and I followed suit slowly. He handed the phone to me almost immediately. 

I saw him frown; he was probably wondering what a beauty like me was doing in the market.

He spoke more Igbo words to me before nearly pushing me and going his way.  

My cousin asked if I was okay and why I looked shocked. I don't think I explained. I was too dazed to do that.

Later on, the guy we were buying from explained that he was insulting me and asking why I was clumsy and using my phone on the road.

The seller had a lot to say. I suspect he added his because this man with beauty as that of the sun could not have said so.

If you live around Yaba or even if you see elsewhere a man with beauty as that of the sun, or a man that matches my description, please let me know; I would appreciate it. He is my soul mate.

I'm home now, eating tiger nuts, the only thing I allowed my cousin to pay for. So much for trying to be independent.

My screen is badly broken, but I'm good knowing I met my soulmate today.

 

 

 

If you enjoyed this, please like, leave a comment, and share it with someone else you think would enjoy it.

 

Day 15/100

#the100writingmarathon

Short StoryMicrofictionLoveFan Fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Loved your microfiction story!!! ❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.