Fiction logo

I beat my rivals with tolerance

My husband and I met when we were in college and he was getting good grades

By Hanla.qiaozhiPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

My husband and I met when we were in college. At that time, he was a very good student. He won the scholarship every year and was a famous talented student in the school. I remember the first time we met was in a debate held by our school. The topic of the debate was whether there was real friendship between men and women. I was on the positive side and he was on the negative side. Although I lost to him in the end after a heated exchange of words, I was impressed by his gifted debating ability and handsome appearance. A month later, we settled into a relationship. After graduation, he could have gone to work for a big company in Shanghai, but he stayed in Chengdu for me. A year later, we decided that our love had matured and we walked down the aisle. The days of marriage were warm and sweet, until one day, the peaceful and comfortable days were broken by a sudden text message. That day he was taking a bath, suddenly his mobile phone rang up, I opened it to see a disgusting love letter message. I panicked and looked in the mail box. Oh, my God, there were a dozen more. For a second, my mind went blank. I couldn't believe that my husband, who had always valued me so much, had a lover. Just then he came out of the shower, and I had packed my things and slammed the door.

That night, I couldn't sleep. I can't help but feel a lot of emotion when I think about all the moments I've spent with my husband over the years. I know there may be reasons of my own. My physical weakness has kept me from satisfying him sexually. But I am also a dignified woman, and I can't stand the betrayal of my husband, no matter what the reason. In the throes of pain, I thought about divorce. But for that to happen, I had to get solid evidence of his betrayal, otherwise a few text messages would not be absolutely convincing, so I decided to go back.

When I got home, I opened the door and found the room very quiet. My husband was lying on the sofa smoking a cigarette. When he saw me coming back, he whispered, "You are back. "I'm not hungry." Fighting back tears, I went back to my room and dove under the covers... That night, we slept in separate rooms. It rained that night, but I turned on the electric blanket and covered two beds. I still felt cold. Once upon a time, I would have snuggled up in his warm arms. And now the tears came out again...

Ever since, I've been in a state of panic, wondering how to find evidence without showing it. During that time, I would quietly wait outside my husband's office every afternoon. I saw him leave the building and I followed. For five days he went straight home. It gives me some comfort that he knows he has a family. On the sixth day, however, he was talking on his cell phone at an intersection near his home, and then he got into a taxi. In a burst of joy, I stopped the car and followed it until we reached a bar. My husband got out and went straight to a woman's seat. At that moment, I was so anxious that I thought a big war was inevitable. However, when I got closer, I found that the woman was actually his sister.

As the days went by, I became more and more anxious. Desperate, I called a psychological hotline, where I told a counselor what had happened to me and how to catch evidence. Instead, she asked me what I was going to do when I caught the evidence. For a moment I was speechless. I was so preoccupied with the evidence that I never thought about it. She added: 'Let's put the evidence-grabbing on hold until we figure out whether it's divorce or marriage saving. Then teach me how to do it.'

With the counselor's commitment, I put down the phone and thought rationally about the problem she had given me. Being betrayed by your husband is a very painful thing, but I'm not so painful now to tell you the truth. Because I can't determine how far my husband has gone from our marriage based on a few text messages!

I began to think about my marriage calmly like a bystander. I realized that my husband was so important to me, and I was struggling to find evidence just because I still deeply loved him!

With some trepidation, I told my counselor about my decision to save my marriage. She laughed, complimented me on my savvy, and advised me not to go after the evidence. Because evidence is a vivid thing, and once you grasp it, it's hard to let go. When the time comes, even if you forgive the other person intellectually, it takes longer and more painful to do so emotionally. Finally, the counselor said meaningfully, "It is inevitable that one makes mistakes, but the key is whether I still love him. If you love, try to use tolerance and love to pull him back to your side."

With the advice and advice of the consultant, my heart was imperceptibly relaxed. When I got home in the afternoon, I cooked my first decent meal in days. He seemed to feel my kindness, and several times he tried to speak to me, but stopped when he reached his lips. After the meal, he put on his apron and washed the dishes expertly as usual. Looking at the familiar and strange figure, my eyes wet. Alas! Forget it, as long as he and that woman break off relations from now on, we will be good again, who call I still deeply love him! In the evening, I carried the bedding to the big room. He appeared very excited, tightly held me in his arms, let the hot tears on my cheeks, also kept saying: "small such as, I'm sorry to you, I promise never to see her, never to see..."

In this way, my husband and I lasted nearly half a month of emotional crisis seemed to draw a full stop. In order to try to forget this unpleasant experience, we spent a pleasant holiday in Jiuzhaigou Valley. When I came back, I thought I could forget everything, but I was wrong. By chance, I got the password to his E-mail. After logging in, I was amazed again by the letters. After I calmed down a bit, I began to read the email with extreme resentment. It was from a woman named Xing Xiaoyan, and it was full of love. Even though I'm at odds with her at the moment, I have to admit, her writing is bleak and beautiful.

The husband will be back soon. In the face of my roar, unbearable he finally told the truth, the original he and that woman as early as in high school is a classmate, she fell in love with him at first sight, but after the entrance examination to the university, we all go their own way, never heard from. Time flow, in the blink of an eye seven years past, in an old classmate reunion, she met once first love -- my husband, buried in the bottom of my heart for many years that feeling finally broke out again, she regardless of my husband has married the fact, resolutely launched the love offensive. Her husband in her constant pester, the balance of the heart also began to tilt slowly, until the day I accidentally found her text message, which is to recover the heart has been ready to move. The husband also described Ms. Xing as a particularly neurotic woman who had threatened to die in order to woo him. So after he refused to meet her, he didn't go overboard and kept in touch with her to a certain extent via email.

After listening to my husband's excuses, I was skeptical. Is there really such a spoony woman in the world? But his seriousness doesn't make him look like a liar. Maybe our marriage is about to be challenged like never before. After a night's deliberation, I decided it was time to meet this woman.

Not wanting to meet her in person, I asked my husband to call her. The woman came soon after. Through the thick glass, I finally saw her face, which turned out to be a tall and beautiful girl. She was surprised by my presence, but soon realized it was a hoax. She picked up her bag and tried to leave, but I stopped her. She looked uncomfortable, her head bent low and her hands fidgeting with her nails. She seems to know her role after all. I didn't want to waste any time, so I said bluntly, "I know you like my husband very much, but you must know that he and I were married a long time ago, and we were very much together. He's the one who set this up. I can see that you are a very nice girl, and if you put yourself in your place, I have no objection to your keeping company with my husband, as a common friend, that's all. ' With these words, I left.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.