Fiction logo

Love in a stamp

With mottled tell such as water of the past, reflect some no longer clear shadow

By Hanla.qiaozhiPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

I always thought that the wall of memory would fall off the most heavy part of the layer with the passage of time, and tell the past like water with mottled, reflecting some no longer clear shadow. When I sat in the wall of memory, opened the album only to find that the feeling, like a stamp, has been collected in the depths of the heart, never fade.

I knew Xia Feng twenty years ago when we were both in primary school. I was attracted by his stamp collection at the school's stamp collection exhibition. We lived in the same courtyard, so we soon got to know each other well.

In order to collect more stamps, we often go to the classmate's home together "sweep", from a variety of envelopes on "Taobao", never take into account will not be beaten by adults, occasionally encountered not common stamp eyes green, the result is really collected some good stamps. Xia Feng has seven or eight stamp albums, and there are many fine works in them, even some of them are expensive, which is inseparable from his father, who also likes collecting stamps. With him, I learned the basic knowledge of stamp collecting. Under his explanation, I found that the small world is so wonderful. Every stamp has a certain meaning, which makes me more intuitive to understand some historical figures and places of interest. However, as soon as the stamp collecting craze passed, many students' interest in stamps plummeted. Xia Feng and I have always had a special liking for stamps.

With the increase of age and the increasing pressure of study, my interest in stamp collecting gradually faded away, but my feelings with Xia Feng became deeper and deeper. After graduation from high school, we went to their respective universities, I realized the taste of missing. I always think that a person who likes to collect stamps must be a thoughtful and careful person, but also know more about life, cherish life. We wrote to each other, about our lives, about the future, about stamps, but never about feelings. Every time he met a new stamp, he would stick it on an envelope or put it in a letter and send it to me. He never sent the same stamp. I am a proud girl, so I have been waiting, waiting for him to say those three words.

After graduation from the university, we went back to the beautiful city of Lu Zhong. We still maintain the kind of relationship that is a little closer than friends, a little more distant than lovers. We have too much similarity and tacit understanding, but introverted he and proud of me, but who would not take a step closer to each other. Because of his presence in my heart, I rejected many excellent boys around me.

After a year I began to doubt his feelings for me. Perhaps he would always see me as a trustworthy sister. Until one day, when he came to my apartment looking for me, he happened to catch me chatting happily with another boy. He was surprised and hurried to leave, in his flustered expression I read his inner peace, I know, he cares about me.

He didn't come back to me for a long time. One day, out of the blue, I received a letter from him. It was a very ordinary letter, except that there were three beautiful stamps on the top right hand corner of the envelope. The letter recalled the happy times we had together, but said nothing about our relationship. I became cold and lonely, going out dancing and watching movies with the boy who kept chasing me.

After about half a year, Xia Feng went to Canada, and I in addition to the blessing of words, have no courage to go to the airport to send him. After he left, I broke up with the boy, because my heart was full of his shadow. I remember clearly that in the spring of 1997, I sent him a set of stamp albums to celebrate the return of Hong Kong, hoping that he would understand what I meant -- return. But he did not come back, just occasionally send E-mail greetings, have a good stamp is still sent to me.

He wrote that he would treasure me forever in his memory like a stamp.

Now I'm a wife and a mother. When I went to my apartment that day to organize my things, I saw the letters Xia Feng had written to me in the drawer. The past is smoke, and it's time for me to burn these letters. When I asked him before he left the letter gave me thrown into the fire, because loathe to give up on the envelope that three such stamps, then carefully take them down, down the moment, I was shocked: the obstructed by stamps on the envelope impressively write "marry me", but also wrote on the back of three stamps, combination is "I love you".

When I got home, I opened my E-mail. Read his letter again: "A flower has smelt for a long time, but refuses to lose it when it is withered; An umbrella for a long time, the rain stopped also refused to accept; A friend who has been made for a long time can be gently retained in the bottom of my heart even if the hair becomes white hair..."

I sat still and let my salty tears wet the three tiny stamps.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.