Fiction logo

I Am Less

"Short story" On people and keeping loved ones close.

By Dristin VanderleiPublished about a year ago 4 min read
4

"The rise and fall of my life happened quickly. One day, I woke up and realized I wasn't the person I wanted to be. Now, at 28 years old, I find myself homeless."

"At 24 years old, I started making a lot of money in my own business. By the time I was 26, my business was worth about a million dollars. But at 27, I lost it all. I lost everything - my family, my friends, everything. My wife left me, and while it wasn't her fault, I wouldn't have blamed her if she had. I didn't treat her as well as she deserved."

"I don't think how I lost my business matters all that much. What matters is that I lost everyone around me."

"My name is Mark Constance, and these days, I am less. If I told someone that I once had a business worth a million dollars, they would probably laugh at me given my current situation. You know how it is with homeless people - they always seem to have the most wild stories. But if you listen to their tales, you might think that they're full of it."

"I suppose the point I'm trying to make is that I never realized until now that when we walk by a homeless man or woman, we often see them as lesser people. We assume we're better than them. And while that may be true for some, I also believe that some people have just had really bad luck. I'm not a religious person, so I've always believed in luck. The universe will give you luck. I don't see anything wrong with that - it's just how I've always thought my whole life. All I can hope is that luck will get me out of this situation."

"You might say that you don't think less of anyone and that you see everyone as equals, but deep down, you probably do. You can't help but form an impression of everyone you encounter. If you were to walk by me, for instance, you might automatically think 'crazy person.' And if I were to tell you that I once had a business worth a million dollars, you might think I'm even crazier. It's only natural to have these thoughts - it's called status. Status has always existed, and it will continue to exist until the end of time."

"You may think less of me, but I'm okay with that. Right now, I am less. But I won't be here for long - I always find my way out of bad situations. That's just who I am. I'm always thinking of ways to fix things. Eventually, I'll find my way out of this and it'll just add a cooler success story that people will love to read about.

I would recommend keeping your friends and family close because you'll need them. Sometimes you may think you won't, but when it comes down to it, you will. Luck knows I sure do need them right now. So as of right now, I am less, but I won't be for long."

I'm currently sitting on a bench, wondering about my next move. Should I head over to my mom's house and try to fix things with her? We haven't spoken in four years. Part of me wants to say that I miss her, but if I'm honest with myself, I don't really feel that way. It's easy to judge her for the mistakes she made when I was little, but I know that she isn't perfect.

Despite not missing her right now, I think it's important for me to try and fix things with her. I know that one day I'll regret it if I don't. I've come to realize that we often get along better with our parents once we see them as people, flaws and all. So, I might as well try to understand my mom and build a relationship with her. After all, I barely remember her.

Life seemed so much easier when my dad was still alive. He was my go-to person for everything, and I miss him terribly. My mom left us when I was young, and that may be why our relationship is strained. It's not easy to repair years of distance and hurt, but I know that if my dad were here, he would urge me to try and fix things with her.

Aside from my mom, I was also thinking of fixing things with my wife. I loved her deeply, but I wasn't always good to her. Despite my mistakes, she hasn't divorced me yet, and I'm not sure what that means. Is there still hope for us, or is it time to let go?

I have to own up to my mistakes in my marriage. I cheated on my wife not once, but twice. Looking back, I can see that my success as a business owner went to my head. I thought I was invincible and could have it all - including multiple partners.

But that was a dumb and selfish mistake. I betrayed my wife's trust and hurt her. I know that my actions showed how much of a lesser man that I am.

Sitting on this bench, I've come to a decision about what to do next. I've realized that I need to reach out to my mom and try to fix things between us. It's strange to admit, but I think I'm at a point in my life where I need her support. Every man comes to a point where they realize they need their mom, and I guess this is mine.

It's bittersweet that it took me becoming homeless to realize that, but I know that in the end, it will be worth it. I hope my mom can understand where I'm coming from, just as I plan to understand her. She's my mom, and I believe we can work things out if we both try.

I want to leave you with some advice. Don't settle for being less than your best. Instead, strive to be great, that can even even mean fixing things.

LoveShort Story
4

About the Creator

Dristin Vanderlei

I'm Dristin someone who found his passion for writing when I was kid and fell in love with movies, once I figured out I could basically just tell my own stories I been writing ever since. Appreciate if you check out my writings plz comment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.