Fiction logo

Humanity Hope

It only take one

By giovani serranoPublished 3 years ago 5 min read

I traveled alone since it made it easy to move on the surface. Humanity was able to thrive, however it was underground where the sun no longer reached our eyes. The few that did travel above ground, such as myself, tended to die young. As for me I survived going out for thirty years spreading my tale to those who listen while selling my secrets to those who payed.

"Take me with you Mol." John was a child with bright eyes, to bright to continue living down here. "When you finish school then I will think about it." He never liked that answer and I have caught him trying to escape above more then once. "People call you crazy for going up there alone all the time. Why do they say that? I think it is because they are cowards." " They are not wrong, I am crazy. However I am still scared. See this locket?" He laughed as he remarked that it was for girls since it was shaped like a heart. "Maybe, but it is the image inside that matters to me. The person I love is in there and that person is the reason I return to the surface."

Before I could continue to speak the device in my pocket rang. It was used by our ancestors to communicate from long distance. I held onto it for years since I found it. Never had the idea crossed my mind that it could still be functional. I slide the picture of a strange creature as a face answered. "We found you." The voice sent a chill down my spine as I recognized the voice. "Where is..." It had stopped before I could finish the question. I rushed to the center of our community where the chief stayed to warn her of the transmission. yet my pleading went left unheard. The decision of one was about to cost the life of what was left.

I tried to warn any one who would listen, but no one wants to believe that their way of life was about to end. John was the only one who listened to my story. His mother wanted to leave as well, while the father had also agreed. What did stop them was the sickness of both his parents. There was only one entrance and exit to the community, and along with a few decided to leave traps behind in order to keep them out. It had only been three days from the transmission when it happened. The noise could be heard all the way down here. It was the them. Their screech was that of death itself as the rumbling of their numbers made the strongest of stomach turn. Then the eerie quietness settled in. It has happened many times before, I watched raiding parties devoured by the swarm.

I quickly ran towards John and his family as I stumbled over every body who now realized what I had said was the truth. Before I could make it from above the sunlight reached this depth and hell came pouring in. I made it to John home where his parents tried to keep him safe. "Here put this on silver makes them blind to you however they will be able to hear you and smell you so we will cover ourselves in mud on the way out of here." The device rang once more as the voice this time was a lot more cheery, yet the message more twisted. "I am here to collect what is mine child."

With out further conversation we ran past the masses being slaughter with very little resistant. The dead quickly catching up the the number of living as the monster began to catch devour any that stood in their way. John's mother had fell do to her sickness yet only her husband and I saw it. Before we could stop she gave a weak hearted smile as we continued to run. We already knew that we all would not be able to make it. With out spoken words we had, but one goal, preserve the future.

The exit had some of the monster corpse do to the traps, yet most littered the entrance since their goal lied within the our community. We made it to the surface which was lush in wild life and greenery. We continued forward till John had realize his mother was no longer with us. He broke down in tears as he tried to return to that place. " John stop it! Your mother died in order for you to survive! Please I beg you do not let her death be in vain." He began to cough out a lung. John had held onto his dyeing father when it happened. It had happened, two of those monsters had caught up to us. Along with them however was their tamer. The man wore shades hiding his eyes while being covered in a long cloak.

"You got what belongs to us Mol. We need that back or perhaps we need to kill more people in order for you to understand. The monster resembled human, yet they had been emptied. Hollowed out as one had launched onto John's father. "Kill me and everyone here, but you will not get what you desire." His twisted smile turned sour instantly as it had been angered. He approached John hand to his throat. "We were feared by your ancestors as demons, worship by few of them and given power by their greed. Thanks to a few whispers from my brothers your ancestors imploded resulting in a place I call home. We changed it to are likings, yet you cockroaches still linger on. Worse of all, you have the gulls to steal from my master." His grip tighten as blood began to leak from Johns throat.

I reached in my pocket grabbing the locket as I calmly walked towards John leaving my bag on the ground. "Everything you need to know about me lies in there. I give you this locket in order for you to protect what is most important to me. This may be to much for a child who just lost his parents, but I promise you will not be alone." The man was about to speak when I fired my gun into his mouth. Guns do no real harm to them, but it was enough to free John who ran towards me. I handed him the locket and pushed him towards the bag. "I have never been able to tell you the truth, but you will see it for yourself now.

I did not look back as the gunfire had went off repeatedly making me run all the more. I continued to run till I could no longer stand and the tears blocked my vision. I pulled out the heart shape locket from my pocket and opened it up to see what it was that kept Mol going. On one side it read HOPE, the other was a picture of a man who resembled my dad in his younger years. Before I blacked out I could hear people shouting headed my way. By time they made it to me the monster had already caught up to me. Yet the group of four had strange Weapons that was able to slice the monster up killing them instantly. " Mol had found him after all."

Fantasy

About the Creator

giovani serrano

trying to work on my style before publishing on kindle. Hope to make a career off my writings, since I enjoy it so much.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    giovani serranoWritten by giovani serrano

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.