Fiction logo

How I Became a Super Villain part 4

The Origins of Tekno

By Taylor EllwoodPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
How I Became a Super Villain part 4
Photo by Lukas Denier on Unsplash

Jim and I spend the rest of the day working together. In each class, we're paired up and expected to help each other out. I'll admit I'm actually surprised at how much Jim knows and that he's smarter than how he presents himself. I don't know why I'm surprised, except that perhaps he's put on such a good show of being a certain type of super villain that I haven't expected he'd actually be smarter than I thought. And maybe that, in and of itself, speaks volumes to just how smart he is.

We don't talk about Air One for the rest of the school day, recognizing that the walls have ears, but once school ends we tell our dad we're walking home, which both surprises and pleases dad, because it means he can be out in the field longer.

"So what do we do about Air One?" I ask.

Jim looks around uneasily and then says, "We don't do anything. He's just the representative of the SHB. I am sure he'll keep an eye on us, but if it wasn't him, it would be someone else. We have to play their game, for the moment, so that's what we're going to do and we can't tell dad."

"Yeah I wasn't going to. That'll give him more to worry about."

"He probably already knows anyway, but maybe not. Regardless we're going to have to play things very carefully, giving our school and the SHB what they want to see us, but also really working together. I feel really stupid about being so competitive with you now," Jim admits.

"Our school sets it up that way and we've both been distant from each other since mom died."

"I miss her everyday," Jim says.

"So do I," I reply. I do miss her. There's this aching hollow in me, where she used to be and nothing can ever fill that up again.

I sigh and we walk in silence for a few minutes.

"After we're told that we no longer have to work together, we'll have to put on a convincing show that we're still rivals," I say a few minutes later.

"Yeah, and we'll still need to work together, somehow, without being too obvious about it. Do you think we can do that?" Jim doubtfully asks.

I shrug and say, "We have to. We don't have a choice."

We finally reach home and start doing the chores together, working in silence. I keep replaying the day's events in my head and how cold Air One's eyes were. If there was a villain at the school today, it was him.

Dad comes flying home, just in time for dinner. He looks a little frayed and his costume has scorch marks on it.

"Tough day at the office?" I cornily ask.

Dad makes an assumed sniff and then says, "The usual schenanigans. Pyrota got a little carried away today, but fortunately no one got harmed. And how was your day?"

I glance at my brother and then say, "It was good. We worked together like we were told to, and although everyone looked at us like we were aliens, we got through the school day."

Dad laughs and says, "I'm glad you two are taking this seriously. You'll get through this in no time, but remember you still need to work together even after its no longer officially expected of you."

"You're right dad, we will get through this and be stronger for it," Jim says.

Dad looks at Jim approvingly and then says, "That's what I like to see from both of you."

We enjoy our dinner with him and afterwards go up to our separate rooms. We are trying to get along, but even so I need some down time from Jim and he needs it from me as well. For the rest of the evening I tinker with my redesign for the next version of the wrist gauntlets. I've gotten the material I've ordered so I start putting them together and before I know its 1 in the morning and I know I need to get some sleep if I'm not going to be a wreck at school.

I go to bed and before I know it I'm blearily opening my eyes to the sound of the alarm. I turn it off and force myself to get up. The wrist gauntlets aren't quite done, but another night's work and they will be. I wish I had the day off from school, but playing hooky right now isn't a good idea, and probably never will be again, now that I know of the level of scrutiny I'll always be under.

Before I know it my alarm goes off. I blearily smack the snooze button but a few moments later I hear a knock on my door. I push myself out of my warm bed and crack the door open. Jim's already up and dressed.

"We're going to miss school if you don't get ready."

"I'm getting ready!" I snap.

Jim peers at me and says, "Doesn't look like you're ready. I'll get your breakfast and lunch ready."

I close the door and start grabbing random clothes while grumbling to myself, "I know we have to work together, but does he have to be my alarm now?!"

I quickly get dressed and scoot into the bathroom and comb my hair and then rush downstairs. My brother has put a bowl of cereal out for me and I scarf it down quickly and then run back up and brush my teeth. I won't go to school without brushing my teeth, which makes me one of the cleaner villains in training I suppose.

"Denise, dad's waiting for us. We gotta go!" Jim yells from the ground floor.

"Coming!"

I grab my backpack and stuff the new wrist gauntlets in it. I can do some more work on them in between classes and then I head downstairs and rush out the front door into the car. Dad gives me an irritated look and then quickly drives us to the school.

"What were you working on so late in the night?" Jim asks me.

"Homework for class and some tech projects I'm working on. I didn't mean to stay up so late, but I got lost in the flow of the work."

"I always encourage both of you to keep honing your powers, but you've also got to get a good's night sleep," Dad admonishes both of us.

He pulls up to the school and I get out, glad to get away from the lecture. I know he means well, but we've basically been parenting ourselves since mom's death. This sudden interest on his part is kind of bizarre, but maybe in a way the recent events have forced him to realize that he needs to step things up in the parenting department. I wonder how he'd react if he knew about Air One's visit with us.

"Wait up, Denise," Jim calls out.

I stop and wait for Jim to catch up.

"We can't act solo right now. You know that."

"Me walking into school isn't acting solo," I reply.

"We don't know that. Look, I know you're rattled by Air One and so am I, but that's why we need to work together. We both agreed to that."

"We did, but I'm just feeling out of sorts today and Dad lecturing us didn't help and now you're doing the same thing."

"I'm just trying to look out for both of us. So is he."

"I know and you want me to be a team player, but up until recently we haven't been that way with each other. I'm still getting used to the idea."

"So am I. It's not easy for me either."

"Ok, I get it. We both have to work at this," I reply.

"And not just for this assignment. We'll have to keep it up somehow after we get through this."

"I know. We've talked about this so much. I just need a break!"

"We're not going to get a break, Denise. That's what I'm realizing. We're always going to be living double lives. I didn't see that before. I got caught up in the theatrics, but now I see it's not real and it never will be, but we'll still be held to some standard and if we don't meet that standard, we'll end up in the DCA. You know I looked up the DCA last night."

"You did? What did you find?" I ask.

"It's where they send superheroes and villains when they break the superhero and supervillain codes, so they get adjusted. It's not a good place to be sent to and some people never come back. I don't want to end up and I don't want you to end up there either."

"Are you really worried that'll happen?"

"It could, if we don't get with the program, but its not just their program we have to get with. It's our program, it's us as a family. We have to look out for each other, even though that's not in the supervillain code. You and I will have to pretend we're rivals and make it convincing because that's part of the supervillain code, but we're also going to have to be on each other's side and have each other's back."

He sounds so serious and I realize he's put a lot of thought into this situation, more than I have. It sobers me up and makes me realize I have to adjust my attitude. Jim's already done that and I can't do any less, if we're going to get through this situation. I don't want to be a supervillain, but I guess I'm going to have to be one.

Ok, Jim. You're right. I'm getting onboard. Let's head to class together."

I stop and wait for Jim to catch up and we walk into supervillain high together, determined to show our teachers that we can learn our lesson and become the supervillains they want us to be.

To be continued...

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Taylor Ellwood

Hi, I'm Taylor Ellwood!

I write fiction and non-fiction books.

You can learn more at http://www.imagineyourreality.com

and http://www.magicalexperiments.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.