Fiction logo

Homerdaisical

Hoh-mer-dey-zi-kuhl - Adjective: adverse or disinclined to work, activity or exertion, like Homer Simpson.

By Roy TsukishimaPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Like
Homerdaisical
Photo by janis blums on Unsplash

It was a beautiful sunny day, and Roger lay in his hammock in the backyard, drinking a beer and relaxing.

His wife Rachel came out and saw her lazy husband resting when he was supposed to be helping her clean the house.

"What are you doing out here? You are supposed to be helping me clean the house today."

"But honey, it is such a beautiful day, so I thought I should enjoy it by relaxing in my hammock with a beer."

"That is what you did yesterday, and that is what you did last weekend. Roger, you promised to help me clean the house today."

"But honey, I spend all week working hard; you think I could at least rest on the weekends."

"Roger, you are the safety inspector for the town council. You sit in your office all day and sleep. There are very few incidents that you have to deal with all year, and why do we need a safety inspector? You are just lucky your equally lazy friend Larry is the mayor. Now get off your fat ass and help me clean this house."

"Sorry, dear, but my brain has shut down and won't return until later. Until then, there is nothing I can do."

"Roger, you are so homerdaisical, just like your hero Homer Simpson."

"Flattery like that might get me in the mood for some loving, but just not now."

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.