Fiction logo

Hills, Both ways.

Micro Story

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3
Hills, Both ways.
Photo by Thomas Lipke on Unsplash

In our day, we had to go to school, uphill, both ways. City kids had no bus to protect us on our way to school. We became tough winter warriors in the trenches of the winter battles. Heavy winter jackets, bread wrapper lined boots, hand knitted mittens and scarves protected our little beings.

Out the door we went as our friends walked up the road trudging new foot marks in the freshly fallen snow. We traveled together. Was it companionship or was it for safety? I have often wondered. Yet, we didn't care we chatted as we fought the roaring wind. I remembering many mornings where we yelled "good morning" over the yell of the roaring wind. Snow days were few and far between so my friends and I endured the winter weather together.

Like a pack of wolves we followed behind each other. The leader broke the trail and the littler ones followed behind in their steps. As I relive this memory. we moved in wolf-like migration with a protector following behind. Wise, Native children trudging our way to school. Wonderfully wildly strong like our ancestors before us to taught us the lessons of brother wolf.

While at school, the weather raged. Recess was cherished by all our friends as we played together. Mittens laid to rest to dry. At the day's end, we climbed the snow hills again as we trudged back home. Both ways we trudged together up the snowy hills as the windy, cold weather raged.

family
3

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 6 days ago

    Yes, I grew up in cold winters south of Chicago—not wilderness, but we walked in snow and ice, wearing pants under skirts and layers of wool. The school was about a mile away. Once, there was an ice storm, and an ice-encrusted limb fell near us. A mother driving her kids picked my brother and I up. Our mother would not drive us, we weren't coddled. Your picture reminds me of my years in Alaska (adult), seeing the northern lights. I think if I saw them on the way to grade school, I probably would have sat down watching and been super cold and super late! Thanks for your story.

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Wonderful and relatable story!!! Loved it!!!

  • Denise E Lindquist3 months ago

    I relate😊💕 Thank you ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.